Spinning Roving Swap Questions Answered

Alright, I can’t wait any longer! Here’s my answers to the Spinning Roving Swap Questionnaire:

1) How long have you been spinning? I started on a drop spindle in April of this past year, and I got my wheel in June.

2) Are you a beginner, novice, or experienced spinner? I guess I’m a beginning spinner, but I’ve been learning quickly.

3) Do you spin on a drop spindle or wheel, or both? I make yarn on my wheel, but I still use my drop spindle for sampling a new fiber and for making the leader yarn to attach to the wheel bobbin.

4) What types and weights of drop spindles (or what type of spinning wheel(s) ) do you currently own? I have a low-whorl Anne Grout ceramic spindle (2.4 oz.) which is my favorite, and a toy-wheel high-whorl spindle that came with a “Learn to Spin” kit from Carolina Homespun. My wheel is a Kromski Minstrel named Tenar.

5) What type of fibers have you spun with before? All animal fibers so far: Merino, Superwash Merino, pure Alpaca, and a blend that included a lot of mohair and alpaca carded with an undisclosed breed of wool. I have some Corriedale and a Colombia/Dorset blend waiting in the cupboard. Oh, and I’ve gotten to try a sample of 50/50 merino/silk roving (loved it!!!)

6) What fibers do you prefer to spin with? I actually like the “slippery” feel of the merino I’ve used – feels like it drafts itself! I’m interested in trying new things, so if my pal has a favorite I’ve not tried yet, I’d love to give it a spin (ha-ha.)

7) What fibers do you dislike? I’ll try anything but dog.

8) Do you prefer natural colored fibers, or handpainted/dyed fiber? I like both, and will welcome either.

9) Would you prefer all one type of roving or smaller amounts of different types to sample? No preference, I’ll be happy either way!

10) What are you favorite colors? In rovings, I have tended towards blues, purples, grass-greens, and vivid yellows lately; I like all colors though.

11) What colors do you dislike? I detest neon day-glo colors, not that I’ve seen much wool abused that way…

12) What would you like to do with your handspun yarn, or what do you plan to do with it? I will display it in a basket in my living room till I find a way to work it into a knitting project. Scarves, hats, mittens, and socks top the list of potential projects.

13) What spinning projects are you currently working on? Right now I’m spinning some superwash merino I dyed a couple weeks ago (blues.)

14) Do you have a wishlist? Yes, at Amazon.com. Look up bonjourloriATgmailDOTcom. But it’s mostly expensive knitting books.

15) What are your other favorite hobbies? Knitting, cross-country skiing, reading.

16) Do you have any allergies (pet, smoke, food, fiber,etc…)? No allergies.

17) What is your preferred shipping method (USPS, UPS, FedEx)? USPS is the least expensive shipping method up here.

And since Blogger has been so compliant about uploading photos, here’s a mouthwatering pic(k) from my backyard…

Fresh rain-washed raspberries! Yummmm…


Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

