Finally!

I finally finished the Gentleman’s Fancy Socks from Nancy Bush’s Vintage Socks book. I started them seemingly ages ago, on August 6th. Andy’s not here to try the pair on, but he said the first one fit perfectly. I don’t know if it was the pattern (endless checkerboard 2X2 rib,) or the color of the yarn (ghastly boring olive green,) or the fact that I was knitting a pattern that begins with the words, “Cast on 80 stitches,” using size US 0 needles, but it seemed like they would never end! I’m very glad to be done with them, needless to say. I tried to take a photo, but since it’s finally becoming dark at a reasonable hour here now (9pm rather than 11 or 12 – or not at all,) I couldn’t get one that didn’t look like a pair of sock-shaped blobs. Even these socks deserve a better portrait than that.

This little guy’s been visiting us on a fairly regular basis. He is, I think, a stellar jay. He is enthralled with our birdfeeder, though he is too big to get a good grip on the perches. He swings on it precariously, then eats the fallen seed from the deck floor, and then hops along the rail squacking.
He drives the cat crazy.
Speaking of driving a cat crazy, try this one sometime: wind yarn from an umbrella swift that’s been hung horizontally on a bookshelf (so it turns like a wagon-wheel) just high enough so it’s impossible for the cat to either reach or ignore. She was going absolutely nuts, even mrouwlll-ing at it as it spun. I cracked up through a whole skein of sock yarn…

Tomorrow I’m taking the girls on a little swap-inspired field trip. There’s an alpaca ranch a little less than 2 hours north of us, and that’s all I’ll say until we get back…

I saw two pairs of sandhill cranes wheeling the sky this morning, sounding the most eerie cries – beautiful and otherworldly. Even Rudy’s attention was taken. They are seasonal visitors, and will be leaving us soon, before the snow arrives.

2 thoughts on “Finally!

  1. That looks like a gorgeous view out your window. You must be in the country, which makes me envious. Cute jay! This weekend has been cold, cold and it’s getting dark here earlier too. Fall is here, and since it seems like fall lasts about 3 weeks in Minnesota, winter’s not far behind.

  2. I do love the look of the gentleman’s fancy socks, but I had the same pause at the directions as you did. Someday though… they must be super stretchy, which I love in a sock.

Leave a Reply

