Many, many projects

First off, I want to say thank you to everyone who sent good car-ma my way. It’s been really nice to find all the well-wishes posted. Coincidentally, it seems many other knit-bloggers were having car troubles this week.

I have been doing some knitting, though since I’ve been playing catch-up with my bout of startitis, progress on each item seems minimal.
Here are my current Works in Progress. I’m usually a one- or two project kind of gal, so I’m a little appalled when I spread them all out. There are reasons for this madness.

The dark gree blob off to the side is a Pi Shawl, started at swim lessons this summer (the girls were swimming, not me and the shawl, of course.) I am using a combination of patterns from Knitter’s Almanac and Gathering of Lace, and have gotten to the point where I have nearly 600 stitches on the needles, and need to find a suitable (and easily memorized) pattern to insert. That involves math, and so it was put aside…

Next we have my Scarf Exchange Project, which I’ve been working on a bit each day. (Still can’t get the color to show up right – I give up.) It’s nearly halfway finished, and I hope to finish the current ball of yarn before Tuesday.

The single sock on the right is the first of the blue-and-grey Madder socks. I really like the way it’s turned out, the Three Point Star toe fits my foot well. I plan to cast on the second of the pair tonight, while watching disc 2 of Lost: Season 2 (Lost is one of my two TV weaknesses. The other is Project Runway, of course.) The ribbing of the Madder Sock really shows better on the foot, so I’ll show them off when they’re both done.

The red blob is Salina, still plodding along (another TV-watching project – I don’t watch a whole lot of television!) I’m just past the third (of four) increases of the body before the armholes.

Then there is my latest project, the Embossed Leaf Socks from Interweave Knits, Winter ’05.

I’m just to the heel flap of the first sock, and I was trying to figure out a way to extend the tips of the leaf shapes into the heel instead of cutting them off. Again, that requires math and graphing, which I’m not entirely opposed to, but I feel guilty taking time to do it when I need work on the scarf. (And watch Lost.)

So. A-cabling I shall go, and I’ll post again tomorrow, probably with a review of Zorro, which I’ve finished and thoroughly enjoyed!

Oh, and for anyone who is (also) a fan of Elizabeth Zimmerman, there is a new knit-along, Zimmermania, which is for anyone interested in knitting an EZ-inspired pattern. Personally, I am going to use the group as a way to start That Dratted Gansey, and maybe even get it finished in time for winter!

4 thoughts on “Many, many projects

  1. Lori,What is the gorgeous yarn you’re using for the Embossed Leaf Socks? Is is Cherry Tree Hill? If so, what colorway? It’s really pretty, and I love the pattern too. I have a pattern from my LYS for a beautiful scarf (lace – I just can’t give up) that uses a skein of Cherry Tree Hill. I think it’s even based on an Elizabeth Zimmerman pattern.

Leave a Reply

