Sockret Pal Questionnaire

Wee-hoo! Here we go!!! I’m so excited about this swap!

The basics:
How long have you been knitting? I first learned when I was 8 or so, and started “seriously” knitting about 2 years ago.

Do you consider yourself a beginning sock knitter, an intermediate, or have you been doing this so long you could probably knit a pair in your sleep? I’d say advanced-intermediate – I knit in my dreams, and I’ve successfully turned a heel on a dark airplane… I haven’t written my own patterns yet.

The measurements:
I wear a size 9.5 to 10 shoe. I prefer a snug-fitting sock, so I usually knit my socks about 10 inches (25cm) from the back of the heel to the tip of the toe. My feet are 8.5” around the instep and 8” around the ankle (real measurements) and I like a little negative ease so they stay up. (Hope that’s not too convoluted – email me if you need more clarification.)

(fiber related) Favorites:
What colors do you love? All the sky and sea colors (blue, grey, green, purple, brown) and reds and oranges.
Do you prefer solids or variegated? No preference, it depends on the pattern.
What fibers do you most love to knit with? Wool, alpaca – I hate acrylics, and have little use for cotton living here.
Who do you consider your favorite yarn vendors? Trekking, Blue Moon Fiber Arts, Opal, Fleece Artist, Cherry Tree Hill, Lorna’s Laces, Brown Sheep (Wildfoote and Nature Spun Sport) – I’ll try nearly anything.
What projects (other than socks, of course*S*) do you most enjoy knitting? Hats, sweaters, scarves, and mittens.

(fiber related) Dislikes:
What fibers can you not stand to knit with? Acrylic. Fun-fur, eyelash yarn, and that sort of stuff.
To wear? See above.
What colors would you never wear? Pastels don’t suit me well, especially pale yellow. I don’t like black much either.

The Tools:
Plastic or Metal? Bamboo or wood? I use all sorts of needles except plastic.
Circs or Straights? For socks, dpns. For other projects, I try to knit in the round (circs) as much as possible.
DPNs or Magic Loop? DPNs
Are there any knitting accessories you don’t have in your collection but would like? I have lots of gadgets, but can always use more stitch markers. Or (another) good simple knitting bag.

The Extras:
Do you have a wish list? If so, please share the link! At Amazon.com enter bonjourloriATgmailDOTcom in the “find a wishlist” search.
Do you like sweet, sour or salty? (or all of the above? *S*) All of the above!
Do you have any allergies your pal should know about? No allergies!
Favorite scents? I like natural scents, some of them unusual. I have a grapefruit perfume I love, and there was an ocean-inspired oil I used to have, it smelled like sun on saltwater and tanning oil. I like sandalwood, lavender, and the smell of men’s “woodland” scented deodorants. (What? Is that weird?)
Scents you can’t stand? I don’t like fake flowery or “department store” perfumes.
Do you collect anything (other than yarn and knitting toys of course)? I have a collection of shells and stones from around the country; I’d love to have some additions to it.
When is your birthday? July 4th
Do you spin? Yes, yes, yes! I have a Kromski Minstrel spinning wheel.
Dye your own yarn? Yup, and roving for spinning too.

Your favorite author/Yourband/vacation spot, anything you think will help your pal know you better…
I read a lot, and a little of everything. Most recently I’ve finished a Mercedes Lackey book, a Stephen King novel, and I just finished The Time Traveler’s Wife for the umpteenth time. The Kite Runner is next in queue, and I love books on tape (or cd) to knit to.
I like all sorts of music EXCEPT religious and the new country music. And “gangsta’ rap,” if you know what I mean. My radio is usually tuned to the local Public Radio station.
I’m feminine but not girly. I like the outdoors, and winter is becoming my favorite season because I love snow. (And it’s a good excuse to knit!)
I haven’t been on vacation lately, but if I were to go somewhere it would probably be camping in the Chugach Mountains, though I also love the beach.

Posted in Uncategorized

2 thoughts on “Sockret Pal Questionnaire

  1. I’m amazed at how similar we are. I could have answered your questionnaire and you wouldn’t have noticed a difference. I just went to my library webpage and put a hold on “Time Traveler’s Wife.” Looks like a good read – it must be since I’m 5th in the queue (sp?) and there are a zillion copies. Have you read anything by Sherri Tepper? You might like her, my favorite is “Gibbon’s Decline and Fall,” but really I like pretty much all her stuff. I also like Mercedes Lackey and just took out “Ill Met by Moonlight.” One of my all-time favorite books is “Woman on the Edge of Time,” by Marge Piercy. It’s a bit dated now, but still a really interesting read.Looks like you’re in for a fun swap!

Leave a Reply

