[Insert clever title here]

Alright, with a grueling afternoon of work at what counts for our local yarn store looming ahead of me (yes, there is sarcasm there,) I’ve decided to go the easy route for blogging today (again.) Actually, I found a link to this Booking Through Thursday thing on A Bluestocking Knits blog (on which she also chronicles her knitting of the entire Knitter’s Almanac, which makes her one of my heroines,) and thought it might make a nice addition to my blog. So you can expect regular installments every Thursday. Hey, I was a writing and English major before I started knitting too much!

Booking Through Thursday

  1. Do you own any bookends? If so, how many sets? If not, do you need or want any?
  2. Which are your favorites? How long have you had them?

I don’t own any sets of bookends; I have a single lonely bookend that was a gift from a friend before we moved to Alaska. She herself is an Alaskan native (yes, she was born here, and she is an Alaskan Native American also,) and she had a set of moose bookends. Guessing (correctly) that I would quickly become enamored with the bumbling beasts, she gifted me one of her set and kept the other herself. I think of her and her daughters every time I see it.


I could probably use more bookends, but I rarely think of buying them unless I see them in a bookstore, in which case I tend to want to reserve my money for the books themselves…

I finally figured out how to charge the camera batteries, (Long story. Enough to say the charger we have is very tricky to those who are technologically limited. Like me.) so I can post some photos of the knitting I’ve been doing lately. Lest you think I’ve been slacking.

Blurry photo of the Embossed Leaves socks, which are moving along swimmingly. I think I might actually have the pattern memorized by the end of the second sock. Unfortunately, they are a little small for me as written, and since the toe is designed to decrease in such a way that it finishes out the last leaf silouhette, I don’t know that I’ll be able to make a pair in my size. But they will make a great gift.

This is the current Downstairs Sock, which accompanied me out last night to a Project Runway soiree at a friend’s house. They are very plain, all stockingette, with a nice picot edge at the cuff (a new technique I’m quite pleased with after this first attempt.) They’re knit in some Opal yarn I got off ebay; if anyone knows a good way to identify the different types of Opal (without a German-English dictionary) please let me know!

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged

2 thoughts on “[Insert clever title here]

  1. Such lovelly bookend! And just realised no way I could buy something like that here in Croatia! Well, I will have to ask someone who knows with its hands and piece of wood!The coloure of plain stocking sock ig great – would suit my hear perfectly!

  2. Hi Lori,I just stumbled across your blog and read about you fearing the Embossed Leaves socks being to small for you – when I designed them I chose a length that would fit a lot of people, but I myself wear a size 11, so I know the problem. To make them larger, just knit another half of the pattern repeat (8 rows) – which is easy. The more tricky part is to do the toe reversed to make the leaves fit, i.e. start the toe with p2tog, k to last 3 sts, p1, k2 (I just wrote this down from memory, so please check the pattern before you knit it that way!). I have done that and it worked like a charm.I do also know a good way to identify Opal sock yarn: ask me, if you feel like finding out…BTW, love your bookends!Greetings from Montreal to Alaska,MonaPS: do you really have Men in Trees?? 😉

Leave a Reply

