Genuine stroke of genius

Not my genius, of couse, as I am always brilliant. It comes, rather, from an unexpected source.

Yes, those are Kellogg Corn Flakes, and they have a picture of Ariel on the box. Out of all the cereal, all the looming Sponge Bob Marshmallow Puffs and Chocolate-filled Sugar Dipped Frosties a five year old picked out Corn Flakes!!! She saw the Little Mermaid picture, and Had To Have Them, even after a very serious discussion about what exactly one might and might not expect to find inside the box (those things being cornflakes, and marshmallows, respectively.)
She insisted that she has always loved corn flakes. (Not that I’d ever noticed.) And, being the stubborn child that she is, she will probably eat bowl after bowl after bowl (as long as I let her look at the box during breakfast.)

It’s just nice to see Disney using their Hypnotic Powers Over Children for good.

And now for something completely different!

I’ve finally finished my scarf for the International Scarf Exchange, though I still have to sew in the ends. I’m making a little something to go with it too. I really like this yarn (Beaverslide Wool and Mohair) especially in the Irish Hiking Scarf pattern. It’s warm and wooly, and still soft enough to not feel scratchy on my neck. (Tenar also had no complaints…) I may have to make one like this for myself someday!

And now, if you’ll excuse me, I have to go pack for a weekend at the Anchorage Yarn Expo…

2 thoughts on “Genuine stroke of genius

  1. I have a friend that spent a year when she was about 5 eating wheatabix, which she hated, in order to get enough tokens to send away for a Barbie. I hope your daughter enjoys her cornflakes, haha. I love the colour of your scarf 🙂

Leave a Reply

