Booking Through Thursday, Oct. 5

Booking Through Thursday

  1. Tell us about a book that you had to read, but didn’t want to, but that you ended up liking. Something for school, perhaps? A book from your Mom for Christmas that she insisted on you reading? Something from a bookclub? But ultimately, a book that–against all expectation–you ended up liking, respecting, loving….
  2. And, of course, why? What made this book resonate with you?

This is a really hard question for me. I tend to view most books as a glimpse into someone’s mind, and if a person took the time to write something down and someone else thought it was worth publishing, I try to approach it with a positive attitude. I don’t usually read books I don’t want to, and since English was my favorite subject in school, I enjoyed all the books we read for class (as far as I remember.)

Looking at the bookshelf, I guess the only one I can think of right now that I didn’t expect to like was “Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood.” It was such a popular book that I expected it to be a bubble-gum soap-opera kind of book. A friend raved about it until I finally gave it a try, and I ended up being touched by the honesty and emotion of the characters. It is hardly the “tra-la-la” light-hearted story I’d expected.

Here is a promised picture of the first bobbin of the merino roving I bought at the Anchorage Yarn Expo (heretofore AYE.)

I rather like it. I’m going to try to get enough 2-ply (which should end up being sport/dk weight) for a Zimmerman Baby Surprise sweater, since everyone around me is reproducing at an alarming rate.

All for now.

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged

Leave a Reply

