Socktoberfest is in full swing

Though sock knitting is a year-round event here at the Loribird Nest, I welcome the idea of Socktoberfest with great enthusiasm.

Here are my answers to Lolly’s first week meme:

When did you start making socks?
I started knitting socks almost exactly a year ago, and I taught myself from a simple handout. My first pair was with single precious skein of Cherry Tree Hill merino silk DK, and the first of the pair took me a whole week (that’s doing nothing but knit on a sock every night from kiddos’ bedtime until I couldn’t keep my eyes open, for a week.) I spent two nights on the first heel alone (I re-knit it manymanymany times before I got it right.) I wore them once, and then my well-intended husband did some laundry for me… I actually cried when he shamefacedly exited the laundry room with two very wide, veryvery short felted socks. (Yes, we have a “knitties only” laundry basket now.)
I knit my socks with a tight fabric, and so far none of them have worn out yet, but then again they’re all under a year old.

What yarns have you particularly enjoyed?
Oh, goodness, I love them all! I like Fleece Artist Merino sock yarn, CTH Supersock, Trekking XL, Opal, Blue Moon Socks That Rock is a favorite… I’ve started spinning my own and dying blank sock yarn too!

Do you like to crochet your socks? or knit them on DPNs, 2 circulars, or using the Magic Loop method?
I’m not a crocheter – I cannot do it (well) to save my life. I think it may be one of those left brain/right brain things, and I’m a right brainer.
I am a total dpn user, as I like the old-fashioned feel and the looks you get while knitting in public when people assume you’ve tangled a porcupine in your skein of yarn.

Which kind of heel do you prefer?
I like flap heels the best. I look forward to the precision of the gusset decreasing, and I like the opportunity to create a tiny pattern in the slipped stitches of the heel flap. I have tried short row heels, and though I appreciate their speed, they don’t fit as well, and I can’t make them look neat.

How many pairs have you made?
I’m losing track… I belive I have the 2nd sock of pairs 15 and 16 on the needles right now…
And, in honor of Socktoberfest, I actually have the beginnings of Sock #3 going on!

I’m usually pretty strict with myself about keeping my “No New Projects Until…” rules, but I really wanted to try some of the yarn I’d dyed to see how it turned out. Look Ma, no pooling! I’d been trying for a stripe, and it looks like its working pretty well so far.

Leave a Reply

