How to braid roving

I got a lot of compliments on my “wall o’ roving” (Thanks!) and also a lot of questions about how I braided the roving. It’s really not that hard, so long as you know how to do a simple braid. Here’s how I did it.
Begin with a long piece of roving, two to three yards is probably as big as you’ll want to go. Lay it out so you divide it into thirds (I use my kitchen table):

These will be the three “strands” you’ll braid with. Connect them at the top by hanging one loose end around the loop at the same end,

and start braiding!


The only difference between this and braiding, say, a girl’s hair, is that you have one rounded loop end, and one loose end, rather than three loose ends.

You’ll notice that you’re more or less alternating between twisting the loop, and pulling the loose end through.
Keep the braid firm enough to hold the fiber together, but loose enough that it doesn’t squash the roving too badly.
When you get to the very end, pull the last loose bit through, and tuck it in neatly.

Voila!
Fin!

Some commenters were worried about my roving becoming snack food for wee beasties. Honestly, I don’t know if that will happen (though I’m hoping not!) But the roving is hanging in a very well used part of the house, with plenty of light and moving air. I am guessing that if bugs were so desperate for wool, my previous storage option (plastic bags stacked inside a cabinet) would not have deterred them much. The added bonus (for me) to having the wool displayed so openly is that I will spin it more often and quickly – so it shouldn’t be hanging around looking tasty for too long!

11 thoughts on “How to braid roving

  1. Hi! Just wanted to let you know that this submission made it into this month’s Yarnival! You can view the issue on my blog. Thanks for submitting! Have a GREAT DAY!

  2. I just got a huge package of fiber today that I traded for, and I’m going to steal your wall o’ roving idea. I happily spent half an hour today braiding all the roving I got following your (timely!) instructions, and I was very sad when one bag turned out to be short chunks instead of one or two long strands….

Leave a Reply

