Booking through Oct. 12

Booking Through Thursday

  1. Do you read short stories? Yes, I love short stories.
  2. Why or why not? I began reading short stories in Literature classes in school, probably in 6th or 7th grade. I took an entire course on short stories in college, and continue reading them now simply because I enjoy them, and I often find myself too busy to devote the time to a longer piece of material.
  3. What do you like and dislike about short stories? Short stories are the sock-knitting of my reading world(as opposed to the novel/sweater-knitting.) They are portable, relatively fast reading, and have all the elements I need to keep my literary mind amused. The short story doesn’t have the space to elaborate details and past/future, and so leaves them to the reader’s invention, while concentrating on the important parts of the plot. I like the compact little rush of development/conflict/resolution that takes only a little reading time, but often lingers in the mind for days (or years) afterwards. I find that often it is the short stories I’ve read that make an impression on my long-term memory. Not to say that I don’t love reading the entire fabric of a novel; sometimes I just want the sitcom version of the story.

All for now, perhaps some more knitting later.

Leave a Reply

