Knit Mitt Kit Swap Answers

Well, there will probably only be one person looking for this post… At the last minute I found and joined the Mitten Kit Swap, which looks like it will be a good one. Anyway, here are my answers to the questionnaire:

What are your favorite colors? I like most colors; for mittens I like medium blue, spring green, deep purple, and/or chocolate brown. Or red and white in combination.

Are you a new mitt knitter? How long have you been knitting mittens? I knit a few pairs last winter.

Do you prefer solid or multicolored yarn? It depends on the pattern, but I like both.

What fibers do you prefer in mitten yarn? Wool, perhaps alpaca. These mittens will get plenty of use!

Where do you usually knit mittens? Wherever I do my knitting! At home, at knit-group, in the car on road trips, in line at the post office… the list is endless.

How do you usually carry/store small projects? I have one lonely little bag I use a lot, because it has a drawstring closure and can be hung over my wrist to knit standing up.

What are your favorite mitten patterns? I’ve knit a pair using an Elizabeth Zimmerman pattern, and I’ve free-styled a couple pairs. I’m itching to try a fair-isle pattern.

What are your favorite mitten knitting techniques? I really like doing the “thumb trick” (where you knit 4-6 stitched onto scrap yarn, and pick them up later in the round to complete the thumb); it’s so clever it makes me happy.

What new techniques would you like to try? Some complex nordic fair-isle might be nice; I like plain, simple mittens too. I’d love to try twined knitting, but it’s hard to find instructions for it (in English, anyway.)

What are your favorite needles for knitting mittens? DPNs, all the way.

What are some of your favorite yarns? I’m a bit of a yarn snob, in that I only like natural fibers. I don’t have a huge yarn selection here, so I’ll trust my pal to find something good. I do tend to like thinner yarn (no bulky, please.)

What yarn do you totally covet? Well, cashmere? It would be impractical for mittens though.

Any pattern you would love to make if money and time were no object? I’d knit an Olympic ski-sweater kit from Dale of Norway.

Favorite kind of needles (brand, materials, straights or circs, etc)? I use any type of material but plastic, and generally use dpns for knitting small things.

If you were a specific kind of yarn, which brand and kind of yarn would you be? Oh, heck, this is becoming absurd. I guess I’d be some handspun merino/silk blend; quirky, soft, and durable. Or I’d be some lovely handpainted sock yarn from Fleece Artist, but only cause I love it so much…

Do you have a favorite candy or mail-able snack? Chocolate covered espresso beans, and Haribo candy raspberries. There are very few snacks or candy I don’t like.

What’s your favorite animal? Aside from my dog? Moose. I love the goofy critters!

Would you prefer super warm mittens or something more like fingerless mitts? Warm mittens! I will be spending a lot of time skiing this winter.

If you were a color what color would you be? Chocolate brown.

What is your most inspiring image, flower, or object in nature? Sunset/sunrise reflecting on the mountains here in Alaska.

Do you have a wishlist? Yes, with Amazon.com, but it’s all expensive knitting books and pretty much irrelevant to this swap.

Hope that helps! Let me know if there are more questions you need answered!

Posted in Uncategorized

One thought on “Knit Mitt Kit Swap Answers

Leave a Reply

