Spin a long time…

Note: this post was begun on Friday afternoon, but not completed and posted until Sunday mid-morning, due to many factors not the least of which is THIS and it’s highly addictive qualities, particularly when my husband is home and able to access the computer for “just a few more minutes…” (Don’t click on that link unless you want to tempt being pulled into the Time-Sucking Vortex of Linerider.)

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
Yay! It happened again! Snow!

But “for real” this time, which means there’s enought that it will probably stick around for a little while.

I haven’t been in the greatest mood lately, not for any particular reason, just a bit of the funk which seems to have been going around Blog-land lately anyway. Could have something to do with the impending holiday season, and the scads of gift-knitting left to the last minute.
At any rate I’ve not been entirely unproductive during my self-imposed shut-in. I spun a few things:

Fleece Artist dyed merino, Forest colorway, spun into 125 y. of two-ply.

Approximately 2 oz. of Paris colorway kid mohair roving, again from Fleece Artist.
Yes, I spun mohair; no, I had no idea what I was doing, but yes, I rather like the results. I’ll be plying it with something soft for warmth, perhaps the Pink Guava merino from Spritely Goods.

Emboldened by my success with the mohair, I took another leap off the proverbial cliff and started spinning the silk bombyx top I bought at the Yarn Expo last month. It’s beautiful, and not nearly as hard to spin as I’d expected. My favorite thing about silk, so far (aside from the gorgeous dye job, courtesy of Chasing Rainbows Dyeworks,) is how utterly thin silk can be while still remaining strong. I’ve only spun about 1/3 of the top, and expect to finish the rest slowly, savoring it…

I’ve also knit some things, but I’ll have to show them later, as Blogger isn’t taking more photos at the moment.

I bought some new yarn and roving to dye (and spin) with the proceeds of my first hand-painted sock yarn sales. Did I tell you guys it only took a week for all of it to sell? Amazing in a town this small! I bought several different weights of yarn this time, and BFL roving along with my superwash merino.

The town I live in puts on a performance of The Nutcracker Ballet each year, and there is an art fair held in conjunction with it. I’ve been asked to get some yarns together to put up for sale, so I’ll be working busily on that until we go a-visiting for Thanksgiving, and then there will be an utter frenzy of preperation after we return.

And did I mention it snowed? I’ll be skiing in between spinning yarn and knitting holiday gifts… I love winter!

I promise it won’t be too long until my next post; until then…

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged

4 thoughts on “Spin a long time…

  1. Congrats on your budding yarn business — I’m envious! You really do spin beautifully. I’ve been so busy knitting (see your comment on the frenzy of holiday gift knitting) that I haven’t been spinning at all. Or blogging much either. Your snow is pretty, we haven’t had much yet, just little drabs and dibs.

  2. I just dropped by your blog to see how to braid roving but I stuck around to see all your spinning. I am currently doing the Twisted Knitters Dye-Spin-Knitalong (google it!) and my head is all about spinning and plying and colors right now. Thanks for more of that.Your yarn is BEAUTIFUL!

Leave a Reply

