388 pins later…

Well, I finished my first real lace blocking – the last piece I did I used a string threaded through the points to pull it into shape.

Pi Shawl, from Elizabeth Zimmerman’s Knitter’s Almanac
Knit on 3.25 mm needles
Just over 2 hanks of Knitpicks Shadow laceweight merino, Lost Lake colorway

I started this shawl back in June, and didn’t work steadily on it until the past month or so. I’m really happy with they way it came out. I used a shetland fern pattern in the first patterned ring, but otherwise followed EZ’s suggested patterns entirely. Just for kicks.

In more exciting news, I received a fantastic package from my Sockret Pal!

There is a little box of Numi tea (and that box has “knitting gadget storage” written all over it!) a pair of Italian socks that are a cotton/angora blend (soooo soft!) some On Line sock yarn (another brand I’ve not gotten a chance to try – I think I’ll try entrelac with it,) a cute little handsewn patchwork bag, perfect size for a knit project…. Und Ze Chocolate!!! Dark Ghiradelli, no less, lucky me!!! I’ve got a great pal for this swap too!

Okay, that last bit about the chocolate deserves an explaination. Andy was telling his family about all the cool swaps I’ve been participating in, and was ribbing me about the fact that no matter what else the swap is focusing on, I seem to always get some chocolate in my package. He uses his vocal imitation of the fat caterpiller in the movie “Bug’s Life:” “I know! Let us make a swap of ze knitting yarn! Ve vill send our finest woolen goodness, ze Chibi needles, ze local postcard… UND ZE CHOCOLATE! Ya ya, ze chocolate!!!”
Ahem.
Anyway, I don’t mind the imitation, because it’s kind of true – but hey, I do share ze chocolate. Sometimes.

WRWR: Today the sun came out briefly around 13:30, but otherwise the day was grey and drizzly, with temperatures hovering just above freezing. Sunrise was a 9:47, sunset was at 16:07 (I’ ve decided I like using “military” time to avoid writing am/pm so often.) I know I said all the snow has melted, and for the most part it has; the backdrop of the shawl was in a shady part of the neighbor’s yard!

3 thoughts on “388 pins later…

  1. Wow, that’s really gorgeous! Really, really nice work! I think you’re warmer than we are. It was 1 degree this morning when I bundled up Cam to go to the bus stop. Still no snow, and none in the forecast for at least a couple weeks. I heard today that there’s only a 50/50 chance of white Christmas. This drought is getting really old.

  2. Hi! I just found your blog when I linked from beingnatashafialkov (she linked to your roving braiding tutorial – thanks for that! I’ve been dying to figure it out!) and I was looking through your archives. I was wondering if you could tell me what color the Online sock yarn is – it’s beautiful!Your yarns are gorgeous, by the way! Love them, and look forward to reading more of your blog!

Leave a Reply

