Early Resolutions

So, it would appear my digital camera has hidden its own extra batteries again… so there shall be no pictures posted until I can find them.

All in all, we received 8-10 glorious inches of snow in the past few days, and I went skiing three days in a row!!! Very exciting, a lot of fun, but not so great for the knitting and spinning (or blogging) progress. Also, if you are expecting a handknit gift from me sometime in the next week, it will probably be late. Think Valentine’s day. So sorry, but the snow…!

It probably won’t be that bad. But I keep a “gift box” in which I stash knitted goods for other people, and sometimes they make their ways out for unintended purposes. The brown Koigu socks? They were intended for someone in my family, but the last day of school was approaching, and I knew I needed a teacher present or two – and hey, the lady’s been teaching Older Squirrel to read for heaven’s sake – are you telling me she doesn’t deserve handknit socks? And she was very impressed and pleased, too.

I saw this Stash-a-Thon thing over at Wendy’s blog, and it seems like something I ought to do. Mind you, my yarn stash is not nearly as epic as some I’ve heard of, but still… The main problem I have is that last year I was working a very well-paying but exhausting job. I was too tired to knit when I got home, but had oodles of pocket money, so I bought lots more yarn than I needed. Now, I don’t have the job, so I have not so much money but much more time to knit! I have yarn for at least three adult sweaters, tons of socks, hats, mittens, and spinning fiber everywhere. Downsizing this way seems ideal. I like the idea of the Stash-a-Thon because I’d really like to go to a BIG fiber festival next fall, and if I knit and spin my stash I can feel guiltless about doing so.
Here are the rules as Wendy and L-B wrote them for themselves. The personal additions I made are in italic.
*****************
Knit From Your Stash 2007

1. The Knit-From-Your-Stash-a-Thon will start January 1, 2007 and run through September 30, 2007 — a period of nine months.

2. We will not buy any yarn during that period, with the following exceptions:

2.a. Sock yarn does not count. (What? You think we are made of stone?) I will make every attempt to knit from my own sock-yarn stash anyway.

2.b. If someone asks for a specific knitted gift that we really and truly do not have the yarn for, we may buy yarn to knit that gift.

2.c. If we are knitting something and run out of yarn, we may purchase enough to complete the project.

2.d. We each get one “Get Out of Jail Free” card — we are allowed to fall off the wagon one time.

2.e. Two projects-worth of laceweight yarn may be bought, allowing that the project is specified before purchase, and is started immediately upon receipt of the yarn.

3. We are allowed to receive (but not badger people into giving us) gifts of yarn.

4. Spinning fiber of any sort is exempt. Again, I will make every attempt to spin what I have before buying more.
*****************
I added 2.e. because I am very interested in doing more lace knitting, for which I have little suitable yarn. For a lace shawl, the yarn-to-cost ratio is generally so reasonable, and lace makes such a nice summer travelling project.

So there you go. I plan to make one yarn-related purchase before midnight Dec. 31 2006, because I have been waiting to treat myself until after the holidays, but knowing it will be my last yarn-buying for awhile will make it a thoughtful spend. And then I will have a Fiber Festival Trip to look forward to next autumn!

WRWR
Windy, cloudy, and cold are the words of the day pertaining to weather at the wool room. Temperatures have been in the mid to upper 20s. Winds are 22 mph with gusts nearing 30 mph. Scattered snow flurries are expected this evening and overnight, and the sun rose at 10:02 and will set at 16:02.
Lousy ski weather, but great for housecleaning and spinning!

All for now.

2 thoughts on “Early Resolutions

Leave a Reply

