6 Weird Things, Answers and Unventings

I hardly managed to make a single yarn-over in the past week, but now that Holiday Recovery Mode is in full swing, I’ve picked up the knitting again. I’ve made a lot of progress on the second Monkey Sock, started another pair of socks for Andy (very simple rib, cast on while watching Happy Feet,) and been working on a baby sweater with some handspun previously earmarked for the purpose. But more about that later, I’ve been tagged for a meme – and so I bring you Six Weird Things About Loribird:

(I’m sure most everyone knows The Rules by now, as this meme has been circulating for awhile, but just in case: Each player of this game starts with the 6 weird things about you. People who get tagged need to write a blog of their own 6 weird things as well as state this rule clearly. In the end, you need to choose 6 people to be tagged and list their names.)

1. I have conversations with my dog. Really. But most Muggles can’t hear him answering me, so it sounds (to them) like I’m involved in a conversational monologue.

2. When I’m upset or depressed, I rearrange furniture or cut my hair; both tend to be drastic changes.

3. My hands and feet will often be significantly colder to the touch than the ambiant air temperature of the room I am in. (Long live wool socks and fingerless mitts!)

4. I sometimes dream of things that subsequently happen in reality, though they are usually insignificant events. This has been happening since I was a kid, and back then I thought it happened to everyone.

5. I don’t consider myself to be particularly shy, but when I’m in a room with a lot of strangers, my mind goes numbingly blank and I say the dumbest things…

6. I’m married with two kids, but I’ve never attended a formal wedding or given birth.

So, there you go. In retribution, I’m tagging Aija, Spinning Dervish, Kelle, Theresa, Ms. Garter, and Becky. Answer away as you wish.

Judy asked in the comments if I had a recipe for the pomegranate liqueur. I mentioned that I got the idea from a post on the Pocket Farm blog, but I also found some information here and here. Basically, I cut open and seperated the fruit from five poms, divided it more or less evenly into three mason jars (I got close to six cups of fruit, so about two cups in each jar,) mashed the fruit with a metal whisk (very gratifying, though messy) and added 1.5 cups of vodka to each jar. I also added about a tablespoon of lemon zest to each, as suggested on one of the websites I visited. I put the jars into a kitchen cupboard, and take them out to swirl once a day. As of today, most of the color seems to have leached out of the fruit into the liquid, but I’m going to let it work for a little while longer. After two weeks, I’ll strain the fruit bits out, add the sugar syrup, and let it age. It’s my first time making cordial, and though it seems simple enough and I expect it to turn out well, it’s really more of an experiment than anything.

So, here is a photo of my most recent project:

Some of you may recognize it as the Nearly Seamless Baby Sweater from Elizabeth Zimmerman’s Knitter’s Almanac. But wait! I believe I’ve found a way to make it entirely seamless, a little unventing of my own…
I thought of the modification because I’m using my handspun, and I really like the subtle striping that’s happening as the plies change color. I didn’t want to break that up, as would happen since the pattern calls for the sleeve to be knit directly down from the yoke.
So I put it aside for a little while, and then remembered the thumb trick you can use for mittens. Why not for sleeves?
EZ knits the sleeves on 28 stitches from the yoke, plus 7 cast on each side, for a total of 42. I knit waste yarn across 21 of the yoke stitches, which will make 42 live stitches (21 top, 21 bottom) when the yarn is removed.
I can continue knitting the body of the sweater back and forth in pattern, and when I’m done I plan to knit around in pattern for the length of the sleeve. That should leave me with a completely seamless baby sweater – cross your fingers for me…
(And please, if anyone can see any reason why this won’t work, let me know…)

Weather: Cold, blustery, and snowing. At least I think it’s snowing. There is snow blowing horizontally by the windows, and I’m assuming it’s not just being swept off the roof…
Sunrise was at 10:06, and sunset is scheduled for 16:08 thisafternoon, for a full 6h 2m of winter sunlight…

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged

One thought on “6 Weird Things, Answers and Unventings

Leave a Reply

