Last Finished Project of 2006, and spinning

Belated wishes for a good new year. We celebrated in a very mellow fashion – watched the Times Square ball drop with the kids before sending them to bed (at 8pm, Alaskan time) and then Andy and I hung out for a few hours. Uneventful, but I’m not complaining.

A lot of folks have posted lists of finished projects from 2006, but I’m not up to thinking so hard today. I know I knit much more that I ever had before, and I intend to get even more done in 2007. I can’t say that I really made any resolutions either, other than to try to live in a (slightly) more organized manner, and to try to watch my health a little better. I am still sticking to the Stash-a-Thon, and did do some online yarn shopping just after Christmas. I freaked out a little around 9pm on New Year’s Eve, when Andy expressed astonishment at my “(Nearly) No New Yarn For Nine Months” plan. I almost ordered a bunch of yarn right then, but gathered my resolve and restrained myself, knowing that my better-planned purchases will arrive in the mail by the end of the week.

I finished the Monkey Socks before the end of the year though, and wore them all day January first.

I like the pattern, though the lace makes them a little loose on my narrow feet. I knit them in Fleece Artist superwash merino sock yarn, in the Midnight colorway, on 2.25mm (US1) needles. I needed six pattern repeats down the instep (after heel flap and turning) to fit my size 10 feet, and I had a little yarn left over.

This morning I finished spinning the silk singles I started awhile back, and two-plied the yarn to make the weight a bit more even. This was my first attempt at spinning pure silk, and there was a lot of variation in the singles, though it evened out nicely to a fingering/sport weight yarn once it was plied.


I got approximately 360 yards from 2oz. of bombyx roving, which came from Chasing Rainbows dyeworks, and is the Moody Blues colorway. I really like the juxteposition of luxurious silk done with the humbleness of handspun. I’m not sure what I’ll do with the yarn yet, besides pet it to death, but I’m thinking a pair of fancy fingerless mitts, or a lining for a wool hat.

Weather Report: It has remained cold, with lows in the teens and single digits, and highs only reaching to 20 degrees. The skies have been mostly cloudy with snow flurries during the evening. The sun came up this morning at 10:04, and will set at 16:16.

We’ve been keeping the bird feeders full, as the winter guests have been taking advantage of our hospitality.

This little fellow in particular seem very curious about the goings-on in the Wool Room; he keeps peering in the window, taunting the kitten waiting harmless on the inside sill…

5 thoughts on “Last Finished Project of 2006, and spinning

  1. That is some beautiful silk! 🙂 I’ve been thinking about the weird things for forever now… too many or too few for me 🙂 Have a great new year!

  2. Cute birds, beautiful blue silk, and very nice socks. I love the way that Fleece Artist merino blooms when you wash it. All in all, I would say a great end/start to the old/new year. Happy New Year Loribird!

  3. Beautiful socks! I am making them right now, just finished the first and cast on for the second. I LOVE them! Mine came out a little big, too, but they’re just great!Love the handspun silk! I haven’t actually tried spinning silk on its own yet…makes me nervous! I keep buying silk – sliver, hankies, blends, just haven’t spun any! Beautiful!

  4. Tee hee! I swear the birds do figure out that they are safe from the preditor in the window. There were a few at my parents’ home that would come and “say hello” to the cats. After they brained themselves a few times on the glass the cats learned it was a fruitless endeavor. It didn’t stop them from watching though!Happy New Year!

  5. Pretty socks! I especially like the heel, the texture is very interesting. You sound just like me with wanting to shop before Knit from Your Stash started! I am enjoying the support from others doing this and feel stronger about my resolution.

Leave a Reply

