You leave me no choice but to dye it myself…

I’m participating in the Spin to Knit swap, where one spins and sends a skein of yarn to a pal during the months of January and February. It took awhile to get in touch with my pal, but I finally got her fiber and color preferences.
Turns out she really doesn’t like brown. At. All.
Guess what color is in nearly every one of the rovings I have already available to spin? My favorite neutral, brown.
No problem, I’ll just dye some up for her…

Dyeing: 4oz. of superwash merino, painted and “baked” at 250 F for about 30 minutes.

Drying

Luckily, she’s into socks, and sock yarns, and vibrant colors. So for the very first time ever, I got to dye roving with a particular project in mind. I split the roving in half, and dyed both with the same colors, but one with more “negative” white space and one nearly completely covered. I’ll spin each 2oz. section onto a seperate bobbin, and then ply them for a medium-colored look. (I hope!)

This was the sky this morning around 10am.

I love the little birds in the top of the tree.

And here is a photo we captured the Saturday of the majestic (juvenile) American Bald Eagle.
Silly creature. They have an overabundance of food in the summer months (fishermen’s scraps and tourist’s insistence on feeding them assure that) but in the winter there is not enough natural food to sustain the huge eagle population that has been drawn to the area. Dump diving is the inevitable (and very commonly sighted) result. This fellow was so tame he didn’t shy away at all as we drove up to snap many photos.
Kinda takes the “dignified” eagle down a notch in one’s mind to see them munching away at discarded fast food. (Or to see one chasing a raven that has stolen said fast food – that’s actually quite funny.)

3 thoughts on “You leave me no choice but to dye it myself…

  1. I’ve been reading your blog for a couple months and thought it might be time to come out of lurkdom. I’m intrigued by your method of baking roving to set the dye. Since I’ve been having trouble getting my fuschias and blues to ‘stick’ I’m wondering if that method might work better than steaming on the stovetop. What do you think? Any hints on getting difficult colors to ‘stick’?

  2. Great idea and great colors! Can’t wait to see that yarn spun up! I haven’t tackled spinning sock yarns yet, but I am hoping to start soon – and I might have to “steal” your dyeing idea!

Leave a Reply

