A Northern Exposure moment

I was sitting on the downstairs sofa this morning, knitting and minding my own business, when I heard a thump-stomp-snuffle quite near the back of my head. I opened the blinds to find the hibernating columbines becoming a snack.

Yikes! It’s a bit disconcerting to see such a massive creature so close to your head! But she is apparently quite tame, and not at all camera shy.

I guess I’m glad they’re back; will have to remember to check before letting Rudy out though.

In non-moose related news, I finally finished the Red Sweater. It’s still slightly damp, but I had to try it on anyway.

Saddle-shoulder detail

Quite pleased
“Red Sweater” aka “Not Salina”
Begun as an experimental Salina (from Vintage Knits) knit in the round
Morphed into Elizabeth Zimmerman’s Saddle Shoulder sweater
Knitpicks Wool of the Andes, Black Cherry, 12 or 13 balls (not certain)

I’m quite happy with it, a nice comfy sweater with enough class to leave the house in. And, unlike store-bought sweaters, the sleeves are actually long enough for me! (I knew there was a reason I do this knitting thing…)

Because I’m a sucker for punishment, I started another big project while the Red Sweater was blocking. This one promises to move a bit faster, as it’s knit on size 9-10 needles.
That’s it, you heard correctly – the sock knitter is using paper-towel tubes to knit… well, can you guess what it is? Hint: it’s based on a pattern from Spin to Knit, and is using 250 yards of my favorite handspun along with 8 balls of Rowan Cork.

All for now. It’s snowing, and I’m cozy inside, enthralled with my new project!

6 thoughts on “A Northern Exposure moment

  1. I love looking around your blog! I enjoy looking up and seeing the birds at the feeder while I knit…I’ve never looked up and seen a moose! Holy cow! LOL My cousins near Fairbanks have them every winter though.

  2. I love looking around your blog! I enjoy looking up and seeing the birds at the feeder while I knit…I’ve never looked up and seen a moose! Holy cow! LOL My cousins near Fairbanks have them every winter though.

  3. Hey Cuz! Hope you don’t mind me dropping by, I was sent your blog, and have mine on the same site! However, I have nothing as interesting as you to write about! wow, very nice sweaters!! nor do i get wildlife like that here in Cali! Drop me an e-mail if you can! Marie

Leave a Reply

