Poetic Groundhogs in honor of Brigit…

Once upon a time, I was a very well-read young lady who took the written word as seriously as a spiritual practice. Libraries were my sanctuaries, and books provided almost all the windows to the world and “socialization” that I desired. (That is to say, I was the stereotypical bookworm, always dreamily immersed in a book, the thicker and older the better; I quite preferred it that way, thank you.) I have always enjoyed the way a book can give you a glimpse into a person’s mind, even hundreds of years after they are dead, and how the same words read twice can impart different nuance of meaning. Poetry was to me like a shot of intellectual espresso – quickly taken in, but with effects that linger, mentally or emotionally, for hours and sometimes a lifetime.

In the past years, life has moved in and taken over my bookwormish ways; I rarely take the time to absorb words and reflect upon them the way I used to. So I was very excited to read about the Blogger (Silent) Poetry Reading over on Cara’s blog. What better way to breathe some life into Midwinter? Groundhog Day, also known as Imbolc or Brigit’s Day, is traditionally a day of Art and Home and Hearth, a day of beginnings, of looking toward Spring. What better time to once again fill my inner “hearth” with some art I learned to love in a “former life?”
That said, here is my contribution for the day.

I live my life in growing orbits
which move out over the things of this world.
Perhaps I can never achieve the last,
but that will be my attempt.
I am circling around god,
around the ancient tower,
and I have been circling for a thousand years.
And I still do not know
if I am a Falcon
or a Storm
or a great Song.

– R.M. Rilke

In looking for this poem to post, I found a quote I had copied down many many years ago, during high school, and which I would like to share as well, although it is not poetry, per se, but what I used to call “prosetry.”

“Being seated to run through the spiritual world; I have had this advantage in books. To be intoxicated by a single glass of wine; I have experienced this pelasure when I have drunk the liquor of the esoteric doctrine.”

– Mir Camar Uddin Mast

To find out more about the Blogger Silent Poetry Reading, click here. And please post on your own blog if you feel the urge strike you. It is my humble opinion that poetry makes the world a better place.

Happy Imbolc, Groundhog’s Day, Candlemas, or St. Brigid’s Day, however you wish.

***I received a tremendously great package from my SP9 pal, and will devote a whole post to it tomorrow – thank you so much Jen!!!

One thought on “Poetic Groundhogs in honor of Brigit…

  1. Sorry you’ve been sick. I was down for a few days too. Love the poem, I’ll have to look up R.M. Rilke. I’m so envious of your spinning, I haven’t had time to spin for eons and now I’m half afraid I’ve forgotten how!

Leave a Reply

