Quite a quiet day

Today has been very quiet.
The kids are at school, there were few errands to run, and the house is reasonably clean. The sun is brilliant, making it look warm outside, though temperatures topped out at 15 F this afternoon.
It was a good day to stay on the couch in a patch of sunlight and knit on the handspun Leaf Lace shawl.


The colors have shifted to pale greens and purples, perhaps too abruptly, but I’m going with it anyway. I think the leaf pattern is strong enough to carry the striped effect. I have only the border left to do after purling across this row, so I’m likely to finish it before starting the second mitten.

This was the scene on the coffee table after I came back from the post office today. I loved the strong shadows cast by the winter sun, so I took the photo op.

I received in the mail an order from Zero Markers, some beautiful freshwater pearl stitch markers made by the multi-talented Aija. They obliged me by posing cupped in a cohog shell.

I bought a set for my Spin to Knit swap pal as well, to send along with the next yarn. Which reminds me, I have to take a picture of it soon – it’s the Orion roving I dyed a couple weeks ago, nearly ready for plying.

While I had the camera in hand, I took a couple other pictures; corners of my home, if you will.

All for now. Hope you can also find a quiet patch of sunlight to enjoy.

5 thoughts on “Quite a quiet day

  1. I’m so glad you are ‘going with it’, I think the leaf lace pattern should hold up fine, the yarn is beautiful! I look forward to seeing it blocked with all it’s color shifts.Alpengleam is also gorgeous!Kiss that puppy face for me will you?! 🙂

  2. Well Lo, all i can say is wow! You never cease to amaze me. I am so proud of you. In fact, just in knowing you gives me perhaps the deepest, healthiest sense of pride that I’ve ever felt. I mean that. I feel like crying seeing your blog and all you are accomplishing. You sure are thourough aren’t you? It will take me many more visits to see all the corners in your cite(which will be my pleasure). All my love, support and respect. -j

Leave a Reply

