Knitter’s Treat Exchange

Well, I’ve gone and done it again… I saw a link to a cool little swap (one send: short and sweet!) called the Knitter’s Treat Exchange, and signed up. It’s open until March 31, so if you’re interested, send them an email.

Here are my answers to the questionaire:

1. What’s your favourite type of yarn? Wool or wool blends, in pretty much any weight. I’m particularly enamored with laceweight and sock yarns lately. My favorite colors are brown, “spring” green, and blues, though I love and use most of the others as well.

2. What’s your least favourite type of yarn? Acrylic and/or novelty yarns hold no appeal for me. I also don’t use bulkier yarns (anything over 4 st. per inch) very often. Neon colors are a big “no-no.”

3. What’s the first thing you do when you visit a new yarn shop? I haven’t been to a lot of yarn shops, so when I get the chance I’m genereally overwhelmed. If I have time, I wander slowly and randomly, drawn by colors that I like and feeling the textures. After a time, I remember what exactly I’m looking for, and move with more purpose. (I’m the same way in a fabric shop…)

4. What other crafts do you do / would like to do? I spin (wheel and drop-spindle) and I dye yarn and spinning fiber. I also sew (mostly clothes,) but knitting and spinning definitely take priority. I can’t crochet and don’t really care to learn (though I admire those who can!)

5. What magazines do you currently subscribe to? Interweave Knits, Spin-Off, and Piecework. I had a subscription to Vogue Knitting, but I’m letting it run out, as I haven’t been too impressed by all the issues lately.

6. Put this type of magazine in order of preference: Knitting / Other Craft (fiber related) / Home / Food / Garden / Fashion / Celebrity Gossip / Crochet. Also, I am absolutely 100% okay with knit magazines in foreign languages – I can read French, and I LOVE Japanese craft magazines. (Not a preference, just an option.)

7. What items do you like to knit? Socks (loads of socks), mittens (I’m learning stranded knitting), scarves, hats, sweaters, and lace shawls. I generally knit useful, wearable items (read: I’m not likely to knit a handbag.)

8. Are you allergic to anything? Nope.

9. What do you like to* smell of? (*This is not a typo. The question is: What do you like to smell of?) My favorite shampoo is a mandarin orange/patchouli scent. I like simple, natural fragrances, and am often drawn to the “men’s” section for a woodsy scent. I love green tea, cedar, and lavender.

10. What’s your favourite way to relax? The scene: Early afternoon in a quiet house; music from the local NPR station plays softly. A woman is sitting in a patch of sunlight near an open window, knitting on her most recent project (if it doesn’t require a chart, she may be reading a novel simultaneously.) A mug of coffee or tea sits nearby, along with a plate of fresh fruit and a few squares of dark chocolate. An adoring brown dog naps near her feet…

11. You’re stood in front of a Victorian style sweetshop, an Italian cafe, an old fashioned bakery and a dainty tea room. Where do you go first? Probably the Italian cafe, though the bakery might get preference. I’ll stand on the sidewalk and waver for awhile… okay, I need a coffee now.

12. What do you come out with? An espresso drink, probably a latte, to go.

13. Where do you go next? The bakery, for some fresh bread and perhaps a scone. Then I’d settle on an outdoor bench somewhere to munch and knit.

14. Any other words of wisdom for your pal? I am a coffee fiend, and I am an equal-opportunity chocolate-devourer. Although I often cite specifics in swap questionaires, I’m really quite easy to please – I love to receive packages and to see what other people put together. Have fun, and if you would like it, it’s very likely I will too!

Posted in Uncategorized

One thought on “Knitter’s Treat Exchange

Leave a Reply

