Correction, comparison, and explaination…

Lots to report since last Thursday, though there really hasn’t been much knitting progress made.
I did rip the offensive portion of Rusted Root, and have reknit that section. Several commenters suggested putting in a “life line” thread and dropping the stitches of the lace panel, then knitting them back up correctly. In many cases I would have attempted such a maneuver, but this lace pattern varies in stitch count from row to row (from 15 to 17 stitches) and is a 10-row repeat to boot. Invariably I would have ended up trying to recreate a 17-stitch pattern row with only 15-stitches-worth of yarn, and that just can’t go well. So I frogged, and it wasn’t so bad. The yarn was even cooperative, and didn’t require wetting to get rid of the pre-knit kinks.

I received the Addi Turbo Lace needles in the mail on Friday, and gave them a quick test knit (two rows on Starlight.) So far, I love them! I’m really not one to jump on the bandwagon of a new product just because it’s new, but in this case I’m of the opinion that Skacell knows their stuff and did a great job with these new needles, all around. The joins are utterly flawless, no snagging whatsoever; the cable is pliable and let go of its package-induced coil almost immediately (I often dip my circular needle cords in hot water for 10-30 seconds, then straighten them vigorously to get rid of the curlicues…) And the points? Ah yes, the reason for the purchase in the first place. Well, if a picture is worth a thousand words, let me be succinct:

Mmm, nice eh? Of course, the new Addis cost over three times as much as my dear Susan Bates Quicksilvers, but for use with very, very fine and delicate yarns, I believe the Addis are worth it. The Quicksilvers will still see plenty of use with yarns fingering weight and thicker.

I also have some new handspun to show off. Here is the “Blueberry Patch” targhee wool, from Susan’s Spinning Bunny. I got just over 400 yards of near-worsted-weight two-ply from four ounces.

It surprises me to see how differently the various breeds of wool spin up. I’m used to working with merinos, and find that I usually spin very thin singles from them. Though I was spinning this yarn at my “comfort” weight, the singles poduced a much fluffier yarn, worsted-ish rather than fingering weight. Not that I’m complaining. πŸ™‚
I had the spinning bug when I finished the targhee, so I started some BFL I handpainted at the end of the summer. I combined two colorways that were hanging around, and was very pleased with the result, which I’m calling “Cactus Flower.” (Not coincidentally, the same name was painted on the side of my very first bicycle, which had a similar color scheme. Don’t ask me how I remember these things.)

There were 6 ounces of roving, which spun up into 400 yards of definite worsted weight two-ply.

For good measure, I had to start a new knitting project while I watched a movie this weekend (because I was not going to have to frog Rusted Root again!) This is the first of a pair of socks for Thing 2, wooly springtime socks to wear with her skirts. Love the little picot cuff.

There, I’ve successfully made it look like I’ve been productive, fiber-wise, so I can share the Big News I’ve been sitting on for awhile. In a few short months the Wool Room will be getting a very different view (hopefully this one!)

I’ve mentioned that my husband is in the U.S. Coast Guard; it’s his career, not mine, so I don’t tend to make a fuss about it. Happily though, I enjoy the travelling we get to do – my first move with him was from my little home island off coastal North Carolina to Alaska, a place which I have grown to love and even come to call Home. But the time has come for us to depart, so this summer we will be transferring across the country to…. northern coastal Maine! (Nothing like bouncing from one coast to another…) Loads of preparations to make, but the biggest change of all is what Andy’s been working on this past week while he was out of town: we’re looking to buy our own house, our FIRST house! House hunting has proven fruitful, and we’ve found the one we want, a big old refurbished Colonial originally built in 1841. We are working on its acquisition… so keep your fingers crossed for us, send good karma our way – ‘cause the wool wants that house!!! πŸ™‚

16 thoughts on “Correction, comparison, and explaination…

  1. Wow, that’s some move! But maybe it means you will be able to go to Rhinebeck. I hope so, as I would love to meet you in person.Best of luck with the house. That’s an awesome view.

  2. Wow! That is big news! Congratulations! BTW, I love your handspun yarns. They look so soft and luscious. Also, I’m glad you’re back on the right track with Rusted Root. It’s so lovely! And I’ve also fallen in love with Addi Lace needles. I just adore them despite the price.

  3. Your spinning is beautiful! I especially like Cactus Flower, can’t wait to see what they both look like knitted up. Blueberry Patch should really pop, it’s so colorful.Best wishes on your first home!

  4. Oh oh oh… that looks like a gorgeous view out of the house… I’m soooo jealous :)Love all the freshly spun yarns πŸ™‚ And I think that the yarn used for the sock looks familiar :)Cheers Eva

  5. Hi, I’m a long time lurker. I live in the U.K. but read alot of American/Canadian blogs. Have you read SouleMama’s blog. She lives in Maine and it looks so lovely. I hope you get your house. Good Luck!

  6. I’ve been reading your blog for a few months now and I am delurking to say congratulations! Your first home is exciting! I have heard that Maine is a gorgeous place. I hope that all goes well. Your handspun is gorgeous by the way!! πŸ™‚

  7. Your handspun is really inspirational- I particularly love blueberry patch! Thanks for including weight and yardages- sometimes I feel miffed when people (like myself) say “Look what I made!” and don’t give any hints as to how the magic trick is performed.

Leave a Reply

