Warm fuzzies

As a side note, or perhaps a preface: I was shocked and deeply saddened by the violence at Virginia Tech yesterday. From so far away (geographically) it’s hard to place it into the context of my own daily life – there is dinner to be cooked, lunches to pack, bedtimes, homework, and shopping. My heart goes out to the families and friends of the vicitms, the family of the shooter, and to the students who were there. Beyond that, I am left mostly speechless; what can you possibly say about such a thing?

Firstly, I want to say thanks for all the “good luck” comments and wishes – I really believe such things help, and in this case, it really did – we got the house!!! (**hoppy happy dance**)
I particularly enjoyed the de-lurking of folks who’ve been reading my blog awhile – Blogger doesn’t reveal most email addresses, but I try to visit the blogs of new commenters (and usually add them to my Bloglines list, which, as you can see in the sidebar, is really out of control…) To steal a phrase from Faith, you guys are “my friends I haven’t met yet!” To those of you (like Paula, whom I have no link for whatsoever) on the east coast, and especially in New England, I am looking forward to meeting you in person someday – Rhinebeck is absolutely on my to-do list for this coming year. (In fact, I’ll go so far as to say it’s the reason I’m doing my own version of the Knit-From-Your-Stash-a-thon, which I’ve stuck to very well so far, thanks…)

So yesterday, amongst the flurry of emails and phone calls with Andy (who got stuck in Maine due to that storm) I did no knitting at all. However, I did resurrect an old friend or two to help with a quick project.



No, you’re not seeing double; that’s TWO “cute doll” costumes for Thing 2’s kindergarten class production of “The Little Engine That Could.” I used to sew a lot, so I was a natural choice for this part of parental involvement. I got out the sewing machine and serger (simply owning a serger is a sign of how much I really did used to sew) and whipped out a couple dresses and pinafores to match. Cute, they are. And they fit, that’s the important part. There are some days when I feel more like a mom than ever – yesterday, as I set in four &*%^%#* puffy sleeves, I knew it for certain…

Now please excuse me, it’s my turn to deliver snacks to the Girl Scout Brownies meeting…

13 thoughts on “Warm fuzzies

  1. I can’t believe that you are going to Rhinebeck in the year that I decided to go to SOAR instead. Quite a disappointment.I’ll continue to admire you from afar though.

  2. Congratulations on the house!! I hope to be going to a fiber festival this year. I haven’t ever been to one and there aren’t really in the south. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Cute dresses!!

  3. I’m so sorry I missed your last post. Your spinning is beautiful and then to say you’re moving to the lower 48! Very cool and how wonderful that you got the house you wanted.

  4. Congrats on the house! Northern coastal Maine – I’m SOOOOOO jealous! I want to live there so badly! Anywhere near Bar Harbor? We were there last summer and I didn’t want to come home!Thanks for the compliments on my socks – I LOVE handknit socks! Let me ask, what’s your favorite cotton sock yarn? I want to knit a pair of cotton footies for our trip to Disney in June. Love all the handspun pics – can I ask what the colorway is of the Spunky roving from your March 26 entry? (I’m always asking about your stuff, aren’t I? I LOVE your taste in color!)

  5. Congratulations on the house! Maine by way of Alaska will be an interesting move. I do so love Maine – I hope you and your husband will too!

  6. Lori ~ good for you, getting that house – how exciting! I love that we won’t lose touch just cause you’re moving to the other coast ~ isn’t Blogland great??? Cute little dresses, wow. I like to appreciate other peoples sewing; it keeps me from having to do it myself.

  7. Congratulations on getting the house an on your big move. I envy you a bit, If I could, I’d probably move every so often — I love getting to know new places. Thanks, too for your comment on my blog…I’ve been keeping up with you over the last few months and enjoying your beautiful spinning!

Leave a Reply

