Sick Day

In an attempt to kick this cough, I declared today my very own unofficial Sick Day. (It’s hard to call in sick to work when you’re a stay-at-home-momma…) So I didn’t feel guilty about vegging on the couch watching 2/3 of the long film version of Pride and Prejudice. Besides, it’s not like I was entirely unproductive.

The G-Rocks socks are moving along quickly, and yes, I am doing a version of the Gentleman’s Fancy Sock from Knitting Vintage Socks (Nancy Bush) I’m only knitting around on 60 stitches, on 2.25 (US1) needles.

For Peggy, here is a picture of the singles left on the bobbin after I plied. It’s not the best shot, but you can see they are indeed thin.

Here is a picture of what it looked like back in January when I first dyed it. I believe I dubbed it “Neptune” at the time.


This is what has been catching my eye most recently.

Four ounces of mmm-mmm-good alpaca/silk/merino blend from Susan’s Spinning Bunny. I’m telling you, that Susan knows how to do fiber in irresistible ways. This colorway is called “Tamarack and Spruce” and the only thing stopping me from spinning it is that knowledge that once I do, I won’t have the roving anymore. (If that sounds strange to you, you probably don’t spin; if it doesn’t, and you don’t spin, you probably will someday…)

And finally, in the “Good Knits Gone Wrong” category, here is what remains of the Pomatamus.

Now, now, before you groan and sigh, I have plans for this yarn. In fact, I frogged the sock because I love this yarn too much to let it become socks. It’s very thin, you see, and likely to wear out quickly, not to mention it would have spent much of its (short) life hidden inside shoes. I have reskeined it and wet it to get the kinks out, and am planning to use it with some neutral Knitpicks Palette to make the Anemoi mittens I’ve been craving for so long. I’ll probably do the Pomatamus pattern again with some other yarn, and I’ll enjoy being able to see my hand-dyed yarn next winter.

All for now.

7 thoughts on “Sick Day

  1. All I can say about the socks, roving and singles that turned into that wonderful beautiful yarn is — YUMMY!!!! Thanks for showing me the pre-finished materials.

  2. Everything looks totally delectable. I understand your reluctance to spin up that roving. I have some in my stash that I’m equally reluctant to morph into yarn because it’s just too exquisite in its present form.

  3. I do understand not wanting to use certain roving – I have some in my stash that I just can’t bring myself to spin up! The blue yarn you spun is beautiful – just amazing!

  4. I understand your roving issue – I have the same problem with some of my yarns! Hope the sick day helps and that your recovery is well underway.Jen

Leave a Reply

