Happy Birthday to me…

It took a lot of work, but I got my wool room finished by my birthday (today!)
We put up trim, painted the walls (two coats of primer, two light coats of paint), and then I painted the floor…


…and waited (not so patiently) for the floor to dry. And waited. And waited.
Finally, I just couldn’t stand it anymore. I brought up a borrowed table and set up my little spot.


Ahhhh…. A friend from Homer sent me a knitting muse for my new room (Thanks Jenny!)

Now all I need is my books and wheel and wool, and I’ll be all set to disappear into this room forever…

There was some birthday yarn-buying… I found a cool little yarn shop, Spiral Yarns, a couple hours away when we went to pick up the girls from my in-laws, and bought myself a couple of early presents.

Peace Fleece worsted
Magallanes Chilean yarn, kettle dyed

Yesterday I was exploring around town a little, and was directed to a super yarn shop called “The Wooly Barn” right here in my town! The owner’s name is Sarah, and she is my new favorite person in town… Her shop is in the barn next to her home, and has a fantastic selection of yarns; there is a knitting group that meets there too – I couldn’t be more thrilled!

Cherry Tree Hill Merino Silk DK in “Java”

Done Roving (somewhat-local hand-dyer and spinner)
Sock yarn in “Quoddy Bay” colorway

A small box may have arrived the other day from Simply Socks with some sock yarn selections for my Sockapalooza pal, but we’ll chat about that later… In the meantime I’m going to go watch the 4th of July Lobster Boat Races (!!! you know you’re in Maine when…) and enjoy the rest of my birthday!
Posted in Uncategorized

21 thoughts on “Happy Birthday to me…

  1. Your wool room is wonderful!!!!! It makes me want to renovate a special room for me. Maybe when my daughter gets married this fall. And before I forget, HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!! The yarn purchases look great. Keep us posted as you establish your special room.

  2. Happy Birthday Lori!!! Your wool room is the envy of all of us. I wish I had a set up like that. Maybe if I clean out the house a bit I could make myself one.

  3. Grandma Beulah and Grandpa Butch say HAPPY BIRTHDAY to our VERY special daughter-in-law!What an AMAZING transformation of the Wool Room!!! So cheerful, warm, and inviting!Can’t wait to see your house continue to “evolve”–you guys are doing such a beautiful job on it. Hugs to all.b and b

  4. Happy Birthday!Your fiber haven looks divine…I can’t wait to see it once it’s all overgrown with your wool and yarn and wheel and other scrumptious goodies :DAnd how awesome to have a knitting group in your town! In a barn, no less 🙂 I’m sure you’re thrilled 🙂

  5. HAPPY BIRTHDAY! Your wool room is gorgeous – what a great gift to yourself! That color came out beautifully – very crisp and clean! Let me ask, if you don’t mind – was the floor wood that you painted? What kind of paint did you use? I’d love to do that with my fiber room, take up the fugly pale pink carpet and paint the probably atrocious hardwood underneath!

Leave a Reply

