Briefly

I finished my Koigu socks, and have decided that I like the PGR short-row heel.

I dug into the stash to start another project:

You know all those bits of sock yarn left at the end of pairs? I can’t throw them out, but it’s hard to find a use for such small amounts of yarn; I gathered together several ounces of “leftover” mini yarn balls.

Paired with some Socks That Rock lightweight yarn (“Rare Gem”) that was having some pooling issues during its brief incarnation as a sock, I think they will make a very pretty and unusual scarf! (colors above are “Rare Gem,” which will be the “base” color, alternated every two rows with “G-Rocks” STR. More colors to follow, hoping that the “Rare Gem” will anchor and tie it all together.) I’m using a variation of the chevron scarf pattern from Domesticat, though really it’s just a stitch pattern turned into an overgrown swatch.

Oh, and before I forget, Roseann asked about the snowflake spindle: it weighs in at 39 grams, or 1.4 ounces, which seems to be a nice weight for light-worsted to sock-weight yarns.

All for today!

5 thoughts on “Briefly

  1. Love the socks. I too have been looking at ALL the little balls of sock yarn I have. Some are probably enough to make Emma Belle some sockies. But I also thought about making a “Joseph’s Coat of Many Colors” surprise baby jacket or is it baby surprise jacket. I think you know what I mean.

Leave a Reply

