Whew!

Wow, what a whirlwind of a long-weekend!

Thank you to all of the generous shoppers who made my inaugural shop weekend a success! It looks like I’m going to have to buy more yarn to dye, and start treadling away at the spinning wheel daily… It’s so flattering to see that other folks like my yarn – I mean, I think it’s great, but I’m a little biased… šŸ™‚

I sent out all the packages yesterday, after a minor episode of “running-around-screaming, waving-my-arms-in-the-air” type madness. It would seem that the New Englanders in this small town are very patriotic, and observe not only Columbus Day, but most of the prior weekend, by closing their shops. Andy was kind enough not to point out (though he did heartily agree when I mentioned myself) that I probably should have procured the proper shipping supplies before flinging open the doors to my shop…*blush* I thought it would be as easy as a quick trip to the store Saturday morning, if I even sold anything at all. So much for that thinking! I managed to find some boxes to use in place of the lighter (less expensive) Tyvek envelopes I wanted, and paid a bit out of pocket for the weight difference. You can bet I’m already better prepared for the next shipments!

My joy about the shop was dampered a bit by some proof that “the best laid plans so oft go astray…”
Due to an unexpected out-of-town training for Andy (work related, of course) and some newly arisen health issues that will keep my in-laws from coming to visit, I’m not going to be able to go to Rhinebeck this year.
I really just can’t bring myself to leave the dog to babysit the kids, and I don’t know anyone local well enough to ask. I’m disappointed, but my friend is still coming to visit from Alaska, so we’ll find some day trips to enjoy instead. We can maybe take a trip down to Portland, stopping at Spunky Eclectic along the way, of course, and do some leaf peeping. Perhaps I’ll even force her into slave labor let her try her hand at wool dyeing with me!

In true knitterly style, I worked my way through the disappointment by starting new projects.

I started some “clog socks” to go with my favorite Danskos. I think the low-cuff will be very comfortable with them. They look very funny to me, with the short cuff perched on top of my long foot!


After weeks of debating yarns and colors for the Tangled Yoke Cardigan, I went to a knit-group at the little yarn shop here in town, and noticed that she was carrying Rowan Felted Tweed.

Though it’s usually very rare for me to knit a pattern in the yarn that is actually called for, I bought the Felted Tweed in “Watery” and cast on right away. I’m nearly done with the ribbing, and ready for the stretch of mindless stockinette.

The other projects are moving along as well, but I’ll spare you the photos that look strangely similar to the ones I took last week. Hopefully I’ll feel up to a more inspired post later on this week.

All for now.

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged

8 thoughts on “Whew!

  1. Glad to here you’ve had such a good start to your new adventure. Love the socks. I love a tweed yarn. Don’t think I have any, I’ll have to work on that one. If you are sending your items via USPS there are mailing/shipping supplies you can get free from them off their site. Not sure if it is what you want but I found it beneficial when I was doing a little Ebay business.

  2. Oh I love the clog socks and the color of the Rowan Felted Tweed. It’s going to make such a gorgeous sweater.I’m so glad you were able to find your shipping supplies. It sounds like your shop is really taking off!

  3. I love the color you’re using for your Tangled Yoke!Just a heads up… I think Amy is going to Rhinebeck on Saturday (I know she’s going one of the days), so you might want to double check with her on her shop hours for that weekend.

  4. Can’t let the dogs babysit? LMAO!!! Everybody knows you need cats for that. hee heeSorry you won’t be going to Rhinebeck. I’ll bet you have a ton of fun, tho.The yarn is beautiful. Have to take some photos so I can blog it. Have a great weekend.

  5. I like shorties with my Danskos too! I am sorry you won’t be able to make it to Rhinebeck, there is always next year, right? I love RFT in watery…it is so pretty.

Leave a Reply

