Friday

So this has been my Friday:

Scarlett and I (seriously, could you name that pincushion anything else?) have been busy making props for the second grade re-inactment of the landing of the Mayflower, which shall take place Tuesday. I had to make the patterns up, and then cut out multiples.

Six pilgrim hats complete; twelve to go. At least it’s mostly just production-style sewing now, the “designing” is finished.

Understandably, I haven’t made too much progress on the socks-in-progress.

I frogged the Secret Stranded project, for the time being at least. I was worried about the size, having a bit of trouble with the yarns (two different brands, slightly different weights) and just not into it right now. Just cause.
Well, to be completely honest, I think I’m getting a bit tired of socks, and it was another sock.

(What was that she said? Tired of socks??!?)

I think it’s not the socks themselves as much as the self-imposed holiday deadline. I’m really aching to cast on Autumn Rose, but every time I sit down to revise my gift-knitting list, I remember someone I’d left off. The neighbor I promised socks to, the girls’ teachers… I’m The Knitting Lady around here; anything store bought would be out of character. My mainstay gift is socks. I can estimate a shoe size with just a few furtive glances, and knit a sock to fit, and it’s so much fun to amaze the unsuspecting recipient with a humble, beautiful pair of hand knit socks.

But I’m growing weary of socks, socks, socks…

So I’m thinking I may knit other things as gifts. Mittens, perhaps, because they’re shorter overall, can be fun with intricate patterning.And they’re just NotSocks.

Hats are NotSocks too, and they have the added bonus of not coming in pairs.

There are always scarves, but they’re so long – no, I’d better stay away from scarves.

Dishcloths can be cute, if I can get over my cotton aversion. I’ve seen some really cool patterns out there, and I’ve got a load of Peaches ‘n’ Cream in a basket or drawer somewhere…

Any other suggestions?? Anyone?

(*Note to any immediate or extended family member who may read this and begin to panic, imagining the arrival of a warshcloth rather than your cozy woolen socks: YOUR socks are probably already made.)

12 thoughts on “Friday

  1. I know what you mean- socks are my default knitting as well, but lately I’ve been knitting anything but socks. It’s been hats and mittens (let me put in a good word for hats: no heels, no thumbs, and you only have to knit one for each person).I love your Pilgrim Hats- the kids will look adorable.

  2. I’ve been planning to knit the dishcloth pattern that is posted over at Homespun Living but I haven’t yet. I kind of have a cotton aversion too. It’s just not as cozy as wool!

  3. I’ve found taking a break from the socks to be very good for the mojo. Mittens, gloves, hats; it’s all so very good. And I get to dream about what I’ll knit when my sock abtinence is over.

  4. I love making mittens! They go so quickly and are so appreciated. I always think I’ll make a bunch of cute dishcloths and pack them with soap or bundle them with a ribbon into a nice package, but after one dishcloth I’m done with the kitchen cotton.

  5. You seem to be heading in the right direction in your NotSocks quest. I make my mom worsted weight slipper socks every year–not quite NotSocks, I know, but they do go really quickly. The only other project I can think of is small purses or bags. There’s a cute little pouch in Last Minute Knitted Gifts that’s on my list.

  6. Mittens are marvelous! They’re quick and fun, and people actually get to see them. My family has requested warm hats this year.I also think sweater vests make great gifts for men of a certain age. My husband wouldn’t touch one, but my father would wear a sweater vest proudly. I like how you don’t have to knit sleeves!

  7. I’m planning to do Fetching or Dashing mitts for teachers and a set of baby socks/hat for a friend of my stepdad’s (favor for him) as soon as I finish Arwen for my mom. Mitts seem to take just a few days, not too much yarn, so I don’t have to panic if I don’t start till 12/1. If I tried socks, they would take too long and make me unhappy…

  8. I vote for fingerless gloves… just your basic tube with a thumb hole… you can spice it up with interesting and fun stitch patterns if you get bored, and you can use big (well, bigger than sock needles anyway) needles. I’m a slow knitter and I can bust out a pair of mitts in just two evenings worth of knitting… my kind of gift there 🙂

  9. Yes, fingerless mitts are a great idea. I’ve done the ones in Last Minute Knitted Gifts many times. I’m leaning towards hats. Even fancy cabled or two-colored ones are way faster than socks. Hats On! by Charlene Schurch has some beauties.

  10. I can’t wait to see Autumn Rose, so please keep us posted when you do get the chance to start it. I like your mittens idea, the fit is more generic so less of trying to guess the shoe size issue. I am finally going to cast on some mittens tonight and it was your lovely mittens that got me into this mitten phase ;).

Leave a Reply

