Egads! What time is it!?

Aie! Have you ever had one of those days where the time slips by without letting you get anything accomplished?

Somehow it happened to me today. I haven’t knit a single stitch, haven’t embroidered the flowers on the girls’ stripy mittens (that’s the embellishment they’re waiting for,) I haven’t finished spinning the alpaca I started two weeks ago – and here it is darkening already. Sheesh.

To be fair, the house is now reasonably clean, the grocery shopping is done and put up, the next few days’ of firewood has been brought in, and I shoveled the snow from in front of the mail box. But it feels like it should be only lunchtime, and I haven’t the faintest idea what I’ll make for dinner…

So if you’re guessing that I didn’t get the mini-raglan sweater pattern written out today, well you’d be correct. I’ll try again tomorrow, and here’s hoping for decent photo-light. In the meantime, here are a couple cool links you should check out:

Kristin Nichols is celebrating the launch of her newest book by giving away yarn. That’s always a good thing, right? If you want to enter the drawing, though, you’ll need to hurry – the winners will be chosen on Monday, December 10th. Take a look at her new book – it’s very inspiring, and the colors are a perfect fix for the winter-time drab.

Sheri at The Loopy Ewe is holding a contest on her blog. She’s declared it Random Acts of Kindness Month, and is giving away bags of loot from her store. Go check it out!

There’s a really cool blog I stumbled across the other day called Sew, Mama, Sew! and it’s a treasure-trove of links to different projects, many of which would make quick gifts. Knitting comes first in my world, but I also enjoy sewing, and if blogland gives a good representation, I’m not the only knitter with a sewing machine sitting out.

And hey, look! Giant icicles outside my bedroom window!

They’re really quite impressive in person – there are a couple that are close to 24″ long!

I’m off to see what I can accomplish now that the sun is down. See you tomorrow!

2 thoughts on “Egads! What time is it!?

  1. I want the snow!!!!! And the icicles. We got those down here when I was a kid. I know how you feel, I don’t think I’ve gotten near accomplished today that I thought I would. But you definitely got much more done than me. I can’t wait to see the embellishments on the mittens. I have Kristin’s book and it is lovely.

Leave a Reply

