Beginning to look a lot like…

Yesterday was a busy day: dance lessons (I was the chauffeur, not the dancer), gift wrapping, and finally a holiday party/dinner with the other Coast Guard families. Nevertheless, I got another project finished.


These are some fingerless driving-mitts for Andy, not much of a surprise since he saw me working on them, and I made him try the first one on for fit before I made the second (What?! He was right there…) The yarn is some handspun I bought before I started spinning, and the pattern is my own invention (36 stitches in a 3X1 rib, plain stockinette for the palm, thumb gusset over 13 stitches, and garter stitch at the cast on and bind off.) I used US 5 needles (3.75mm) which created a very dense fabric that should be quite warm and water-resistant, and stand up to wear.

I did offer to give them to him early, since we’re having another snowstorm. I’m not sure if you can tell from the picture, but it’s coming down pretty well.


He said he could wait until Christmas. Like many couples with kids, we feel a little pressure to “have something to open” on Christmas morning, but there is little we actually need or want.

With the snow falling ever-so-furiously, I’m back to the sofa to work on my knitting form…

3 thoughts on “Beginning to look a lot like…

  1. Hi Lori! Yes, I’m still here even though I’m not blogging much anymore. Ok, I’m not blogging at all. Anyway, I wanted to tell you that I made three of the sweater ornaments over the weekend. They are adorable! Your pattern is so much easier to understand than some of the others I’ve seen. You should post it on Ravelry! Thanks for taking the time to write it out for us.

Leave a Reply

