One week and counting

I’ve finally settled down to work on Anu’s Mittens (from Folk Knitting in Estonia, by Nancy Bush) and they’re coming along quite speedily since I’ve got the pattern well memorized.

One finished and blocked, and the mate well on the way. I’ve learned a new double-decrease for the top of this mitten, called the “one wick method.” It makes a nice line of solid colored stitches without the gapping I’ve had problems with on other mittens.

I’ve also jumped on the bandwagon and started a Koolhaas hat (from the Holiday issue of Interweave Knits) using Malabrigo Worsted Merino.

I’ve never used this yarn before (*gasp!*) and for once I have to say that I understand what all the hype is about. It’s so soft, truly lovely to work with, and the color variations are just right. The skein I’m using is a blend of charcoal and grey, with hints of violet and jade peeking through occasionally. It was labeled “Tortuga,” though is is significantly darker than the photo on the Malabrigo website. I’m not sure who the hat will be for in the end, but I’m going to enjoy knitting it.

I’ve still go loads of presents to wrap, and some to send out… bread to bake for a solstice potluck Saturday afternoon… and Rudy insists his petting schedule has been neglected in all the holiday rush.

All for now!

4 thoughts on “One week and counting

Leave a Reply

