…and sometimes they really don’t get it.

I just finished knitting Tudora from the most recent issue of Knitty. I tried it on, admired its elegant silhouette in the mirror before descending to the Room of Manliness where Andy was on the computer.

“What do you think?” I asked.

“It’s good,” he answered, indicating the bowl of stew next to him.

“No. Not that, I mean thanks, but…” I preened a bit, fluttering my eyelashes and waving a hand near my throat.

“Oh.” He blinked. “You made a neck-thingie.”

“Mmm-hmmm.”

“It’s got a big button. And it’s kind of crooked.”

“It’s supposed to be reminiscent of the Elizabethan collars from way back; you know, sort of haughty and stylish, but with a modern touch?”

“It looks like something those guys from Clockwork Orange would wear.”

“—” (He receives a small frown in the frosty silence.)

“What? Well, I think it does!”

“Some things are obviously too sophisticated for you. Har-umph.”

Photos tomorrow, as there is no good light this evening.

7 thoughts on “…and sometimes they really don’t get it.

  1. LOL!!!! I like how his first thought was that you asked about food :)My dad has learned (through lots of years of training from my mom) to ooh and aah about whatever I hold under his nose :)Cheers Eva

  2. LOL!!The response from my spousal unit would probably be something like, “huh, that’s different” I sometimes wonder how he can be so dense when I’ve spent almost 29 years training him!

Leave a Reply

