Answers for the Mitten Swap!

I’ve signed up for a mitten swap, the No More Humdrum Mittens Swap 2 to be precise! Here are my answers to the questionnaire:

How long have you been knitting & how did you learn?
I learned to knit from a family friend when I was a kid, but didn’t do much of anything with it until about three years ago. Then I jumped in and didn’t look back. I learned a lot from books and the internet, and from the lovely ladies at my knitting group.

Would you consider your skill level to be beginner, intermediate or advanced?
Intermediate to advanced, or perhaps it’s just that I’ll try anything… I’m comfortable with colorwork (but not insarsia) cabling, dpns, and I’m always looking for a new challenge and method to learn.

What are your favorite colors? Any you dislike?
I love earth tones – greens, blues, and browns, and I also have a particular fondness for purples, reds, and golds. Oh wait, that’s about all of them… 🙂 I tend to avoid wearing black close to my face, and I don’t care for neon shades, but otherwise I love all colors.

Do you like Latvian type patterns? If so, what are your favorite patterns?
I do like Latvian patterns, I really like the intricate star and rose patterns.

Do you desire mittens for yourself, your “special someone else” or your child?
For me, for me! (Ladies medium to large size, please.)

What is the measurement from your wrist to the tip of your longest finger? 7.75 inches

What is the circumference of your hand at its widest point? 7.75 inches (same as the length, weird…)

What other things do you enjoy knitting?
Pretty much everything; I love socks and hats, I am looking forward some more sweaters this year, and I also love lace. I don’t do a lot of cotton knitting, so dishcloths aren’t something I knit a lot.

What sort of needles do you enjoy working with? (straights vs circs, bamboo vs aluminum)
It depends on what I’m knitting; I do prefer working in the round when possible, so dpns for small objects, circular needles for larger ones. For colorwork, I tend to use wooden dpns (Knitpicks Harmony are a new favorite) and for solid-color things I prefer aluminum.

What’s one project you’ve not yet tried but are dying to make?
I’m itching to get at the Autumn Rose pullover; I have all the yarn but haven’t cast on yet… I really like Selbu mittens and have two books I’d like to work from.

What’s one yarn you’ve not yet tried but are dying to work with?
This one is hard! I suppose I’d have to say I’ve been wanting to try the Dale of Norway yarns in a stranded mitten or glove pattern. I’ve only just recently moved to an area where I have regular access to a large yarn shop, so I’m sort-of overwhelmed with options right now!

What other hobbies do you have? Do you spin? Sew? Garden? Cook?
I spin (I have a wheel and several drop spindles), I dye wool and yarn, I sew, and I cook (and bake.) Hoping to start a garden this spring, but I’ll have to figure out the new climate.

Besides yarn, do you collect anything?
Spinning fiber? And I have a small collection of little sheep and alpaca figures. I also collect rocks, stones, and shells from interesting places.

What kind of goodies do you enjoy? Sweets? Salty? Anything you hate or are allergic to?
I have yet to find a goodie I don’t like. I’m a huge fan of chocolate, especially with coffee or cherries in it. I’m not allergic to anything, so send something you love and I’ll give it a try!

Do you have any kids? Pets?
I have the two Squirrel Girls (aged 6 and 8) and my dog-son, Rudy. The cat, Hannah, has claimed my husband as her person, and there are also various fish living with us.

What is your favorite part of Winter?
I love the snow, and the cold. I love being outdoors doing things like cross country skiing, ice skating, and sledding.

What is your least favorite part of Winter?
When it all melts and leaves us with mucky, slushy mud…

Please feel free to email me with any other questions! I’m on Ravelry too, my name over there is Loribird.

Leave a Reply

