Wine and Silk Roses

First of all, I have to apologize to Aija for the craptastic photo I made of her lovely dye job last night. I had to snap a quick picture, though, because immediately after I did this to it:

Mmm. Fluffy goodness

I soon proceeded on to this step:

I am spinning the merino/seacell single of the two-ply I have planned, and I’m really pleased with the blend so far. It’s a lot like spinning merino/tencel, but with a little less shine.
I haven’t noticed any ocean-scent to the fiber yet, though that could be the pervasive smell of pot roast wafting up the stairs… (mmm, pot roast….)

There was one thing (well, one pair of things) that had a certain eau de fish-house about it.

Ah, the smell of silk wet-blocking…

They’re dry now, of course. That’s right, I finally finished the pair of Wine and Roses Mitts that I started last March!!!

Wine and Silk Roses Mitts (Ravelry link), from the Winter 2006 IK
My own handspun bombyx silk,
dyed by Chasing Rainbows Dyeworks “Moody Blues”

Knit on US 0 (2.0mm) dpns

And look! Another pair of socks! They didn’t stay on the sock blockers long – they’re already on my feet.

Plain picot cuff socks
ShibuiKnits Sock yarn, “Earth”
US 1 (2.25mm) dpns

My needles are empty, my longest standing UFO is now a FO — what to knit next?

16 thoughts on “Wine and Silk Roses

  1. I can find no civilized way to say this.. so I will just have at it. Holy crap those mitts are gorgeous!! Even more beautiful because they’re made of handspun!

  2. Wow. Wow. Wow. You get a lot done! The spinning is lovely, what will it become?Congrats on finishing that UFO. It must be a January thing, I’m completely without projects too.

  3. Awesome! The knitting, the spinning & I know I have said it before, but I love the sock blockers. I keep off buying them because of the cost of postage from the US, but I think I will give into temptation sometime soon!

  4. Ooh, Loribird, those mitts are gorgeous! Thanks for the IK link–I know exactly where my issue is and I’m going to try that pattern too (as soon as I get that stupid 3-year-old Norwegian scarf done)

  5. Your mitts are gorgeous!!! Your handspun silk is amazing. Great socks, too. I think you might be spinning up the rest of that pretty roving. After is plied and drying, will you be casting on for Autumn Rose?

  6. Those mitts are exquisite! Your spinning is also lovely. Funny, I don’t think wet silk smells like fish–more like a stable of silkworms (they raise them where I live in Japan, so I guess I am familiar with that particular odor…)

  7. The mitts, the spinning, all of it is gorgeous. Now, because I am evil and mean – how about that spider’s web shawl to be the next needle occupier? I’m almost ready to start mine – unless, of course, you’ve just diverted me and I’m off to start some mitts. I’m all aflutter so who can tell…..

Leave a Reply

