Snow Day(s), 1st Exam, Influenza, and other reasons not to blog

When I first started Knitting (with a capital ‘K’, as opposed to the knitting I learned as a child and dabbled in two or three times over a decade…) it was a response to the huge quantity of “free” time I found myself with when I married and became a stay-at-home mom. Not to say that moms don’t have plenty to do; I suppose I’d just become conditioned to a life of juggling several jobs along with a social life, so keeping house and chasing kids still felt hectic, but with more time sitting around. I don’t sit still well. I started knitting during all those times waiting, after bedtime, during Dora the Explorer… Now that my own schedule is full, and the kids’ schedules are full, and my husband’s schedule is full, I don’t seem to have quite so much knitting time anymore.

Not to say that I’ve given up entirely. Oh, no, not by a long shot! I sneak in a couple rows here and there, between perusals of that classic tome, “Applied Statistics for the Life Sciences,” and studying for the first-quarter exam in botany. (I got an 88%, plus 10 extra credit points – not bad, considering it’s a tough course.) But I think overall my knitting is turning from quantity to quality.

I’m still enjoying working away at Autumn Rose. Though I’m still on the body, I’m one repeat away from setting it aside to work on the sleeves. It will be done before it’s too warm to wear it.

I got an undeniable urge to spin last week, and noting the lack of time I’ve had lately, I decided to give worsted-weight singles yarn a try.

I used a 4-ounce BFL roving from Spunky Eclectic (“Grand Opening” colorway) and was very pleased to end up with a beautifully balanced 215 yard skein that reminded me a lot of Manos del Uruguay’s yarn. I’d never trusted my singles as a knitting yarn before, but I’m a newly converted fan – it’s bouncy, stripey, soft, and fast – it only took me one evening to spin.

So over the next two nights, I knit myself a hat.

Not so bad, eh? It was just in time, as we’ve had a bout of the snow/melt/snow/melt cycle which more often than not leaves me feeling damp and more chilled than I did in the colder weather of Alaska. I wish it would just snow a lot, then get cold and let it stick around. We’ve had a snow day (or early dismissal due to icy-slick roads) every week for the past month or so, and I’ve about had it. Supposedly, we’re to expect another 4-8 inches of frozen precipitation this evening and tomorrow, but, as a teacher at the school said, “That means we’re either in for a foot of snow followed by another thaw, or a dusting followed by sub-zero temps…” *sigh* (End of weather ranting. Sorry.)

The other project I’ve been working on is a pair of Embossed Leaves socks, with the Araucania Ranco Multi yarn I received for Christmas.

I made a pair of socks with this pattern for my mother a couple years ago, and am finally making myself a pair. I really love the yarn; it’s soft but sturdy, and the colors come in short bursts that dance rather than pool. The first sock is actually done now (I took this photo a few days ago) and I’ve done the first repeat on the second leg. Not coincidentally, it also fits in well with the current Project Spectrum theme, “Fire.”

What else did I mention in my title? Oh, yes, the FLU. I’m not certain it’s actually the flu that I’ve got, but it’s a full-on knock-down drag-out something that’s laid me flat since Thursday night. As Andy said, “You must be really sick, you haven’t even been knitting!” Eek. Today the fever has gone down, but I’m still not feeling great. In fact, I think I’m going to take my box of tissues and crawl back into my wooby-hole on the sofa for a couple hours… Just wanted to check in at the blog before I start getting concerned emails… 🙂 I’ll be back in a couple days.

19 thoughts on “Snow Day(s), 1st Exam, Influenza, and other reasons not to blog

  1. Speedy recovery! School certainly does take up an awful lot of time. Sometimes I feel like I’m never done — I could always read a couple more articles, get a little further ahead, look up a couple references, prep for teaching class just a bit more to be on the safe side.Your worsted-weight yarn and hat looks beautiful! I’m intrigued by the Ranco sock yarn, too.

  2. I hope you are feeling better soon. I love the combination of colors you spun. Very pretty! Missed you and the girls at dance last Tuesday. Oddly enough, it’s the shy one who points out your absence.

  3. Lovely things, especially the hat. Feel better. I knit a fair isle sleeve once when I had the flu…when I recovered I realized I had to frog the entire thing and start again!

  4. Hi Lori,Sorry to hear you’re not feeling well, I suppose you’re exposed to so many more germs at school, aren’t you?I’m glad you’re still finding time to Knit even with your busy schedule.

  5. Your handspun hat is gorgeous!!! I am so going to make a pair of those Ebossed Leaves socks, I think I have the perfect handspun for them. I hope you are feeling better soon, thank you for your knitting and spinning update.

  6. Feel better! I’ve had it; got it on Tuesday afternoon, sang a solo recital Wednesday morning and then went to bed most of the time till the following Tuesday morning. Way too sick to knit. Didn’t feel completely better for another 10 days. Terrible! Daddy had to take 7 girls for Hannah Montana makeovers!!Sending you cyber soup…

  7. Oh No! SICK! Hopefully it will be gone by the weekend.Love the hat and sock. You’re still knitting a lot and I suspect that you’re sleep-knitting. LOL!Did you do that hat from a pattern or just wing it? It’s very nice and I’ve been looking for something else to do with my Malabrigo. 🙂

  8. Your work is gorgeous, as usual. I know the “not having time” syndrome of which you speak. Sorry to hear it is afflicting you! From roving to hat in three nights…good heavens!

  9. I adore that hat! Can you tell me where you got that pattern? I’m also a big fan of quality vs. quantity. Though right now I feel the demand of beanies. Lots of beanies.I hope you feel better soon. The flu is never fun.

  10. Hope you are feeling better. I’ve been fighting off that same thing, I think.What’s the colorway number on that Ranco? (I hope it’s 303, cuz I have a skein of that and I love the colors in it.)

Leave a Reply

