Stranding everywhere!

Oh, my dear blog-friends, please don’t think I’ve deserted you entirely! I’ve been around reading everyone’s posts, hanging out on Ravelry, but for some reason writing a blog post myself seems to be at the end of my to-do list. (And we all know what happens to those hangers-on at the end of the list, no?)

Thank you so much for all the get-well wishes, they really made my day, even through the Day-Quil haze I was in all week. I’m better now, for the most part, just a little lingering cough here and there as I finish clearing out the ol’ lungs… I’ve always been really prone to respiratory ailments, and this wet freeze-thaw cycle Maine has been going through this winter is not helping.

I didn’t knit for a few days while I was ill, but I made up for it in the later part of the week. I’m nearly done with the sleeve for Autumn Rose, and I’m still enjoying knitting on it (which is very unusual; I’m generally sick of a sweater by the time I get to the second sleeve!)

I finished my Embossed Leaves socks, and I love them so much!

Embossed Leaves socks, from Interweave Knits Fall 2005
Yarn: Araucania Ranco Multi, color 309
Size 0 (2.0mm) dpns

I made only a couple modifications to this pattern; I made the cuff longer by half a pattern repeat, which then gave me an extra half-a-repeat on the instep. It added just the right amount of length to fit my size 10 feet while maintaining the pattern so the leaf-shaped toe-decreases worked out too. On 2.0 mm needles, these socks are really rather slim, nearly too much so, but I do have narrow feet and socks have a way of stretching.

The most knitting progress has been made on the mittens I’m making for the No More Humdrum Mitten Swap 2. It’s been an interesting process so far, as I’ve put together my own color palette for the first time. A bit daunting, trying to make a nice combination outside of my own favorite colors.

I’m using Knit Picks Palette yarn, and I used my marble kaleidoscope to help see the colors together.

Here are the colors I ended up choosing:

I’m knitting SpillyJane’s Sea Mineral Mittens (Ravelry link, pdf here) and I picked colors that complement my pal’s preference and also remind me of shells scattered on the sandy beaches where I grew up.

A close-up of the cuff.

First mitten finished.

I’ve rounded off the top of the hand and the thumb a bit, and added more colors, but otherwise I’ve followed the pattern. I really love them so far and expect to get the second mitten done this week.

So, I believe a mid-winter resolution is in order: I am going to make every effort to blog more. I really miss you guys!

18 thoughts on “Stranding everywhere!

  1. Everything looks great, but that kaleidoscope shot is awesome! And that mitten? Oh wow. The colors are so inspiring. I think I need me a kaleidoscope too!

  2. Good heavens, those are the most beautiful mittens ever. You amaze me. Glad to hear you are feeling better.And your blog should be guilt-free. We are just happy when you post.

  3. Hi Loribird,I’m glad you’re feeling a little bit better. I was getting ready to send you a note to see how you were doing and then I saw you had posted again–hooray! And what a post it was…..such beautiful knitting. I am in awe of your talent! (I actually said “OOOOH” to my monitor when I got down to the picture of your mitten!)

  4. Glad you feel bettter. Love the socks -it is my favorite sock pattern so far & they look great in your yarn. I knit them on 2.5mm but I don’t have slim feet! The mitts are somewhere beyond awesome. The colour combination is wonderful. Would you have chosen these colours without your little bit of magic gear?

  5. Just stay well enough to blog and we won’t complain!Everything youre churning out is beautiful, but I must say the colors in the socks quite took my breath away!

  6. The mittens are so pretty! I love the color choices. I’m eventually going to get around to knitting the Embossed Leaves socks–yours are the first to really make me consider them in a color OTHER than green. 🙂

  7. It all looks so great. Unbelievable amount of knitting there girlfriend. I agree with Opal, I need one of those thingamajigs. Who would ever come up with such a novel idea but you!!!!

  8. I can’t get over Autumn Rose! It continues to amaze me how pretty it is. WOW!!! More gorgeous mittens, like I just need a little nudge to dig into my Selbuvotter book. I appreciate the kaleidoscope info, very helpful.

  9. I am not sure which of your gorgeous projects I like best, but I have to say that Autumn Rose and the Embossed Leaves socks made me tear up a little. You don’t have any trouble finding colors to go together, do you??

  10. I thought you’d like to know I started spinning (finally) the beautiful sunset colored merino silk you sent me in the yarn swap as one of the yarns for my Fair sweater. I’m hoping the colors will coordinate with my other yarns when it’s plied, but it is a joy to spin, thanks again!

Leave a Reply

