Darn!

No, really.


Darn.
It’s what I need to do…

I have a grasp on the general idea of sock-darning, but I’ve only attempted once. The results were laughable at best. I quickly came to the conclusion that it’s one of those skills that takes some practice to do well, and I’m sure practicing darns is not, for most folks, up there on the list of favorite pastimes. I’m moderately certain (and fairly ashamed to note) that, historically speaking, there have been children under the age of eight who could darn much better than I can.

While it wouldn’t be difficult to convince myself to forgo the process entirely, learning curve and all, I am rather attached to the two socks that I’ve worn holes in (Come to think of it, I’ve probably worn them out because I wear them so often…) and I want them to last a bit longer. So add darning to my too-long to-do list… I do already own a darning egg. Any suggestions on how to use it well are welcome.

Or maybe it would just be faster to knit another pair…

*******

For your not-so-daily dose of viewing pleasure, I present a photo I took quite some time ago, during February’s lunar eclipse.

The eclipse was nearly complete at this point, and I was out on the front porch fumbling the camera with numb fingers. I was fascinated watching the shadow slide over the moon. We had perfectly clear skies, and it was very cold so the night sky was crisp and sharp.

As expected, we’re still in the midst of winter here in Maine. I finally had the opportunity to build the first “real” snowman of my life (The snow in Alaska was generally too “dry,” or I wasn’t available at an opportune time.) Please do note the fuzzy eyebrows; they’re made of lichen. (And yes, that is a carrot nose. And real coal eyes, smile, and buttons. I’m a purist.)

Of course he melted and fell over the very next day. That’s winter in Maine, apparently. By the way, a town in Maine finished constructing the world’s tallest snowman, er, snowwoman, during the same storm. Really impressive stuff. Crazy Mainers. 😉

I’ve been struggling to come up with blogging material, since I generally consider this a “Knitting Blog,” and there’s been precious little time for knitting in my life lately. I’m afraid it’s made for very poor upkeep of the blog.

So I’ve made an executive decision: I’m going to post bits and pieces of my life, probably mostly photos, maybe some stories, not necessarily fiber-related (though of course when I snatch time for knitting or spinning, you all will be the first to know!)
I’ve been particularly inspired by the Noticing Project blog, and find myself wishing I had a camera to capture more of those “daily beauty” moments. I hope to be able to share a few of them with you!

Until next time…

9 thoughts on “Darn!

  1. Hi Loribird,Here’s a suggestion: Do you still have any leftover yarn from those socks with holes in them? Instead of darning, you could just rip (or cut) them back to where the hole is and re-knit from there. I have done this before with socks my husband wore through. P.S. I look forward to seeing more “bits & pieces” of your life (but don’t omit any knitting, OK?)

  2. I usually do a big patch of duplicate stitch over the thin area and well into the surrounding area. Of course, then a few months later another hole appears somewhere else, and I swear it’s not worth it. But I always do it–it’s in my genetic makeup to be hyper-frugal.

  3. First snowman ever? Wow! That’s a great one.Good luck with the darning. There’s one in my sock drawer that needs the same treatment, and I’ve been putting it off.Hurray for bits and pieces!

  4. Maybe if you get a large enough pile of socks, for darning, then it can be a family event? :-)Is the new sock in the “Lucy” colorway?Nothing wrong with misc. posts. Always good to catch up with your world.

  5. I know nothing about darning socks so I am of no help there.I love the snowman and that giant one it really amazing.I think bits and pieces of your life will be great to see.

  6. That’s a great snowman – thankfully it will live on in memory far longer than it did in snow. There’s a story about a man who made a sand horse and when it got washed out to sea, it became one of the waves, which are (in the story) horses running free. Maybe it’s like that with snowmen? Anyway, look forward to hearing more about life in Maine.

  7. Turtlegirl 76 had a post with a you tube video on darning about a month ago. So you could search you tube. But since it’s on the sole in an area that woul cause a blister, I agree with the re-knit the area suggestion.

Leave a Reply

