I Caved

I have a confession.

I’ve fully and unabashedly given in to my desire to cast on a new project. You know, it’s spring now (despite the howling wind and spitting snow I have outside my window… but I’m getting kinda used to such things by now) and I just needed something… new… to knit on. I’m not sorry about it either.

Before I caved, though, I finished the Painted Desert socks.

Painted Desert Ribbed socks
Superwash/nylon yarn handpainted by me, available at fromthewoolroom.etsy.com
2mm (size 0) dpns

They’re really simple; just a ribbed leg with ribbing continuing down the top of the foot, a flap heel and my normal wide-toe. But I enjoyed knitting them, they were just the sort of “mind candy” knitting I’ve needed the past few weeks.

My new project is not mind candy knitting. Josette and I had discussed knitting the Spider’s Web Shawl (Ravelry link) from Victorian Lace Today as a sort-of informal knit-along, and then she had to go and cast on.
Never one to ignore a throw-down challenge a good dose of peer pressure a fellow knitter’s taunting a gentle push in the right direction (assuming, of course, that said direction is one I was considering anyway…), I chose some yarn from the stash and cast on immediately.

The yarn I’m using is a fine laceweight cashmere/merino/viscose blend from Colourmart, in a lovely shade of blue that falls somewhere between cobalt and medium navy.

The shawl is going to be enormous (I’m knitting the full hexagon version, so it may be as large as 6 feet across) but the pattern is fairly easy to understand once it’s established, so it doesn’t require quite the amount of heavy-duty concentration that some lace does. I had it with me at school today and was working a couple rounds between classes; one of my classmates expressed surprise that such intricate-looking needlework counts as “relaxation” in my world. Of course, that got me talking about knitting and spinning, and within five minutes her eyes were glazing over and she was looking around for an escape route. I let her go; no sense in detaining someone who shows so little potential for conversion… 😉

All for now!

10 thoughts on “I Caved

  1. I can’t imagine knitting a lace shawl that big.. good luck! I love the socks.. especially the name of the colorway. It reminds me of a 10,000 Maniacs (w/Natalie Merchant) song of the same name.

  2. I’m thinking about using the second yarn you sent me in the swap for Sock Madness. It’s so lovely and my only other purple handknits are (at least for the moment) in the bag to be reheeled and toed. And I’m not sure I really want to figure out the tiny stitches in the Koigu anyway. So you may see it up in Ravelry very soon…and thanks!

  3. Whuh? I leave you for a few days, thinking you’re too busy to really get full steam – and you may be ahead of me. Damn those socks that taunted me to start ANOTHER project and de-railed my shawl knitting!I’m doing the whole shebang, too. You know me – moderation is good in theory but no fun at all to exercise!And, I know – how do these strong people resist the vortex I threw myself into so willingly of knit/spin/angst/relaxation – in the words of Janis – ‘it’s all the same effing (my edit) thing man!’. Sometimes it relaxes me – sometimes it makes me empathize with the guy in Stephen King’s “The Shining”. It’s a matter of perspective, non?

  4. That shawl is going to be such a stunner once done! Six feet! Woo!My non-knitting friends are very wary about asking me any crafting questions. I try to be good and stop myself from going on and on, but it’s my passion and it’s so hard to stop my enthusiasm from spilling over. 🙂

  5. That shawl is going to be beautiful. I never can understand muggles that want to stay muggles can you? the mittens from the previous post are awesome.

  6. Maybe you’ve planted a seed…sometimes it just takes awhile for these things to take hold. The shawl looks ambitious but fun! I do understand the drive to relax with something so “complicated.”

  7. OMG! That shawl is going to be beautiful! Can’t wait to see the progress. That’s such a great book. I would like to knit everything in there!

Leave a Reply

