Succintly

It’s been a busy week on all fronts. I’ll keep it brief and just show you the knitting…

I finished the baby gansey, and found some simple wooden buttons that are a great match.

Organic Guernsey by f.pea
1.5 skeins “Mountain Mohair” by Green Mountain Spinnery
color 6442, “Birch”
4 mm/US 6 needles

It came out fairly large, so I knit a smaller BSJ out of some handspun. I’m of the opinion that babies should have lots of sweater options, particularly the babies of yarn-shop owners.

Baby Surprise Jacket by Elizabeth Zimmermann
Just over 3 oz. handspun merino, dyed “Maldives” by Hello Yarn
3.5 mm/US 4 needles

The baby itself is still a w.i.p. so I may have time to make a pair of longies to match…

(Sarah, don’t be mad I posted the photo; you look adorable!)

I also finished one sock from the handspun batts by Enchanted Knoll.

As previously mentioned, I’m doing the Loksins! pattern, and I’m pleased beyond all reason with them so far.

Finally, the best for last:
I met my mother-in-law just before I started knitting in earnest, about four years ago. During her most recent visit, she finally gave in and picked up the needles. Like a fish to water.

This is her first knitted garment, a hat made of Malabrigo Merino Worsted (color “Pollen,” though she prefers to call it “Duckling.”)

Did I mention it took her only five days??! Way to go, Beulah!

If the mini-stash of handspun she took back home with her is any sign, I do believe we may have a new knitter on our hands… πŸ™‚

In non-knitting related news, I got a case of spring fever and took my hair to be whacked off (It seems cutting my hair has become a habitual response to warming weather…) Combined with the fact that I’ve run short of contacts and have been wearing my glasses, I’ve thoroughly enjoyed not being recognized at school and around town.

Bit of a change, huh?

All for now!

12 thoughts on “Succintly

  1. Cute, cute, cute haircut! I went to hack mine all off yesterday, and got talked out of it. Those socks are really great. I love handspun!

  2. I love your new ‘do – I just cut mine shorter, too, and I was hoping it would look more like yours than it does. You have a better forehead for the short-short bangs than I do, though. I want to eat up those precious baby sweaters!

  3. yaw gawgeous!and way to go, Beulah is right – though I have to say that you’re pretty sly getting her hooked on your handspun right away….few can resist such temptation!

  4. Cute hair & glasses! Those colors in the socks are beautiful.I’ll have to look up my baby surprise jacket and attempt that pattern again. It’s nice to have something already finished when a gift opportunity arises.

  5. I ADORE your new doo!! I LOVE spring fever hair changes (I am a former hair stylist) I can’t beging to tell you how many times I went from long to short, blonde to eggplant, highlights to lowlights. It’s the nature of the beast I was told LOL. You look FABULOUS dawlink!;)

Leave a Reply

