Back in the swing of things

What’s summertime without a little change? The shift in seasons has prompted a little re-decoration in the wool room.

If you can’t wear your knits, you might as well display them, right? I used two closed eye-screws (sounds like a medieval torture device, no?) and a doubled length of hemp twine (which I use as the material for my spinning wheel drive band) to make an indoor clothesline. It makes me smile when I see it.

On the subject of wearable knits, the Honeymoon Cami is nearly finished. I’ve only got one more triangle to go and then a light blocking to make the yarn bloom and even out any (ahem!) wonky stitches.

Felting is a process I have been a bit resistant to for some time now. I mean really, why go to all the time and trouble of knitting something (particularly on those enormous paper-towel-tube needles!) only to go and render it unrecognizable as knitting?

I can admit when I’m wrong. I’m very proud to say that I have finally finished my very first felted project and I’m utterly charmed.

I hardly need them now, but they will be very cosy when winter comes around again. The pattern (Fiber Trends) was very easy to follow, and they felted right down to size, though I’ll admit that I had my doubts when I saw how huge they were pre-felting.

My favorite bit is the glimpse of blue inside.

Felt Clogs, pattern AC-33 by Fiber Trends
Brown Sheep Lamb’s Pride Worsted, held double, on 8mm (US 11) needles
colors: Pistachio (upper), Aubergine (trim), Blue Heirloom (inner sole), and Turkish Olive (sole)

I finished filling four of my five bobbins with singles last week, so it was finally time to start plying the Blueberry Patch targhee wool I’ve been spinning for the past months.

I’ve got 900 yards so far (that’s three skeins like this one) and though it’s not my most even spinning ever, it’s a passable fingering- to sport-weight. I’m expecting 16oo – 1800 yards total, which should be more than plenty for a sweater. Maybe even one full sweater and the yoke of another.

Of related interest, one of my favorite people in the world has a brand-new baby blog. She’s a a knitter and a marine biologist for the state of Alaska. Go on over and say hi to her!

All for now!

9 thoughts on “Back in the swing of things

  1. I love the new look of your wool room and the Cami looks fantastic. You really picked out a great color. Now that you’ve discovered the joys of felting, have you thought of a felted bag? 🙂

  2. If I do say so myself that Blueberry Patch targhee you got from me looks excellent. I love the colors!!and your little indoor clothesline is tres cute.I have the same Fiber Trends pattern but have not gotten brave enough to try it yet. After seeing the nice way your clogs felted I think I will add them to my ‘To Do” list. Did they take very long? I am thinking of them as a present.

  3. I love the clothes line idea! I’ve hung my scarves on pegs and I’ve been looking for other ways to display my knitted goods.The top is darling.

  4. The blueberry yarn is soooo pretty. What kind of sweater are you going to knit with it? Whatever you make, you have to wear it to Blueberry Landia!

  5. that clog pattern has been a fav of mine for many years – I predict you will wear yours all year long as I do mine :-)and I love your little indoor c”clothesline” – it’s adorable!

  6. Gosh, you’ve been busy! I may have to steal that clothesline idea. The clogs are beautiful (I feel like the last knitter on the planet who hasn’t made those). Have you picked out a sweater pattern for the handspun?

Leave a Reply

