Promises, promises

Um, yeah. You know how it works when I say I’ll be doing something tomorrow? That’s pretty much permission to not check in for a couple days. Apparently.

Anyway, today turned into a beautiful, sunny day, the first since I finished the Honeymoon Cami, so I took some photos for you.

Honeymoon Cami, from Knitty’s Spring 2004 issue
3.5 mm (US 4) needles (Hooray for Knit Picks interchangeables!)
Elsebeth Lavold’s Hempathy (cotton/hemp/modal), color 09 (purple-y blue)

For giggles, I’m also including what I used as a camera stand (lacking a tripod or a human to take the photos for me.)

Yes, that would be a tackle box, leveled with a package of weed-eater cords, sitting atop an ATV. Hooray for innovation!

I’ve finally resurrected my Autumn Rose sweater, and am on the home stretch. I finished the second sleeve and am working my way up the shoulders/yoke. So far it’s looking great.

I was relieved to find that it should fit, as it’s the same size as the Honeymoon Cami (I laid them out together.) The Autumn Rose should grow a bit when blocked (unless the swatch lies!) so I’m excited about it again.

However, I’ve made the most progress on the Gathered Pullover. I’m into the cabling portion!

I like that the majority of this sweater is plain stockinette – it makes for great knitting while doing other things. Like watching tv. Or making dinner. Or Plurking.

So yup, “Plurk” rhymes with “murk,” and I’ve found myself spending an inordinate amount of time on the site. It’s like Twitter; they both work like a multi-person instant-messaging. I believe I first heard about it from Wendy, though it was Opal who convinced me to join. I’ve met a whole slew of “PlurKnitters,” and been able to keep up with some real-life friends who live at far corners of the world from Maine. It’s a fun way to pass the time at home without feeling alone.
Opal and I have started taking 10-minute “spin breaks” to help her keep up with her 10-Minute a Day pledge. (I suppose I should join too, at that…)
So feel free to come on over and Plurk with us! It’s the Plurkiest plurk you’ll find… 🙂

All for now.

8 thoughts on “Promises, promises

  1. Gorgeous knitting 🙂 All of it 🙂 I also like the ‘new’ haircut hehehe.I’ve decided to join the 10-minute-a-day spinning thing too. I’ve been slacking a bit in the spinning department (haven’t spun in over a week), but I should be able to manage 10 minutes a day :)Cheers Eva

  2. The cami fits you like a dream. Well done!I’m really looking forward to seeing the Autumn Rose finished. It is such a beatiful motif/color combination!

  3. I’m REALLY trying to stay away from Plurk, so don’t feel ignored. Any more “network” things and I’ll never cook again!The cami is great and Autumn Rose…well, just looking at her makes me a little warm, with the current weather. LOL

  4. Dude. I totally love how you Macgyvered that tripod! Too cool!You look gorgeous in your gorgeous new Cami! And the Autumn Rose is also basking in gorgeousity. Plurk on. 🙂

  5. The cami is darling – isn’t it interesting that you knit on tiny needles to make the sock and giant needles to make the felted clogs yet they’re both for your feet.

Leave a Reply

