One sock, two sock, three sock, four.

Sorry for the absence! My mother is visiting us here in Maine, so I haven’t been spending much time online.

I do want to say, “Thank you, thank you, thank you!” to everyone who made my birthday (July 4) so special. My email inbox, my Ravelry messages, Plurk, and even the real-life mailbox had so many greetings and birthday wishes (and even gifts!) that I got the warm fuzzies over and over all day. I’m amazed at the warmth generated by the circle of friends I’ve made over the internet, so many people I’ve never met in person who I honestly consider Friends. You guys make my day. (Of course the folks I do know in real life are not to be left out – love you all!)

As usual, time away from the internet is (in my world) time spent with the needles and yarn. I knit up some boot socks from the superwash Corriedale wool I spun up last winter.

The fiber was dyed by Hello Yarn (she called it “Toxic”) and I ended up with about 250 yards of light-worsted weight yarn from it. I was dubious that would be enough to make a pair of socks, but it worked out perfectly, with perhaps 10 yards of yarn left at the end.

The went very quickly; 48 stitches around on 2.5mm needles. Superwash Corriedale is nowhere near as soft as superwash merino, but it feels like it will wear very well. I almost can’t wait to wear them next winter with my purple snow boots!

I also finished up the socks I was knitting from the Cat Bordhi book, “New Pathways for Sock Knitters (Book I,)” and I’m quite pleased with the result.

Bartholomew’s Tantalizing Socks, by Cat Bordhi
2.0mm (US 0) dpns
Yarn Pirate merino/tencel sock yarn, colorway “Icicle”

And yes, the cuff (done in linen stitch) is split up the back. It doesn’t seem to affect the staying-power of the cuff, but makes for a nice fit above the ankle.

But the most unique part of the construction of these socks? Look ma, no gussets!

I’ll definitely be knitting more patterns from this book, though they do take a good deal more concentration than I’m used to using for a pair of socks. It was like knitting my first pair all over again: instructions never out of arm’s reach, following line-by-line wondering whether it will fit a human appendage in the end…

I’ll check in again soon, but all for now and I hope you’re having a good week too!

8 thoughts on “One sock, two sock, three sock, four.

  1. Please accept a belated Happy Birthday from me. Those socks are wonderful. I am impressed that so few yards with small needles resulted in socks high enough to wear with boots. cool.and the Cat Bordhi ones. Ooh la la. too weird and wonderful. One of these days I will stop looking at the book and actually make myself a pair or one. VBG.Namaste

  2. belated Happy b-day to you!and what nice socks. I haven’t played around with Cat’s book of socks yet, but yours looks so fun, I just might have to try it!

  3. ugh! i can’t believe i missed your birthday! ::insert head-slap emoticon here:: belated happy birthday wishes anyway. i’m glad you had a good one.i love the socks. i love the colors of the toxic socks and i love the construction of of the cat bordhi socks. love, love, love. i may have to break down and actually buy another sock book. ye gads.

  4. Both pairs of socks are great but the hand spun are to die for. I especially like that the colors between the two socks are not a perfect match up but there is enough symmetry that they look great together. A little description of your spinning technique and/or how you managed to get the colors to line up so well during the knitting would be interesting.

Leave a Reply

