Yarns were spun, knitting was done

My mom left today after a nice week-long visit. She got to enjoy some of the best weather we’ve had this summer (well, she didn’t mind the heat, though I found it a bit oppressive) and we did some of the touristy things one doesn’t often take the time to do in one’s hometown.

Of course there was lots of sitting around gabbing, and I am incapable of doing such without fiddling my fingers around. So, this being a fiber-blog, I’ll share what I accomplished.

I finished spinning and plying the “Pumpkin Juice” batts from Enchanted Knoll’s Happy Hooves club.

It’s superwash merino with recycled sari silk and glitz blended in. I spun just over 700 yards from 6 ounces, so it’s a nice fingering weight two-ply yarn.

I also finished the sleeves of the Gathered Pullover and sewed them in.

I had a little mishap while sewing in the second sleeve; it went in wonky (translate: apparently I need more practice!) and I decided to rip it out and start again. I snipped a yarn, believing it to be the seaming-yarn. Indeed, it was not. There was about an hour of “Knit Triage” wherein I caught unraveling stitches, kitchnered my little heart out, and generally tried to stay calm. There was lots of deep breathing and tongue-biting.

Luckily, the damage was repaired and is practically unnoticeable. If any fellow knitter notices and asks, I’ll have a heck of a story to tell.

Gathered Pullover, from Interweave Knits Winter 2007
Garnstudio Silke-Tweed, approx. 1080 yards (just under 5 balls) color 05, “Indigo”
4.5 mm (US 7) needles, circular and dpns

I made the 36.25″ size with some modifications: longer body and sleeves, and I added some waist shaping (inc. 6 st. each side about 7″ up, then dec. the same before beginning cable.) I also knit the neckline trim in the round. I really love how it turned out, it’s a very wearable sweater and I expect it will see a ton of use once the temperatures dip below the 80s and 90s here in Maine.

Since I’m not one to deal well without an abundance of knitting in progress, I cast on for another pair of socks, this time a stranded pattern.

This is “Ziggy” from the Summer 2008 issue of Knitty. I’m using yarn from the stash, some J.L. Julia “Vinca” and some Rellana “Flotte Socke” yarns.

Both yarns change tone and color, the “Vinca” more boldly than the “Flotte Socke,” so it mimics the color shifts of the Noro sock yarn in the original pattern.

I’ve also got a new project on the spinning wheel. This is some merino bamboo (60/40%) dyed in the colorway “Hidden” by Amy of Spunky Eclectic. I’ve got 8 ounces to spin up, and I’m spinning the thinnest single I ever have, in hopes of a two-ply laceweight yarn in the end.

I’m hoping to knit “Laminaria” (from Knitty Spring 2008) with it when I’m done, which should be awhile at the rate I’m going. Fortuitous the summer days are so long, isn’t it?

All for now.

9 thoughts on “Yarns were spun, knitting was done

  1. Such goodies for the eye! I’m so sorry to hear about the mishap with the pullover. The spinning is so delightful. I adore the Pumpkin Juice, but I think the real treat is Hidden. I have some handspun I need to finish up for Laminaria. I’m glad you had such a good visit with your mom. 🙂

  2. Gorgeous spinning, and I love your Gathered Pullover! However, your story about snipping the wrong strand made my heart skip a beat. I’m glad it all turned out well!

  3. Oooh.. I love that yarn! I am pretty sure at this point that I am waaaay too impatient of a spinner to spin fingering weight yarn. I love your sweater too.. its gorgeous!

  4. Wow! That sweater came out great. It wasn’t one of my favorites in the magazine, but it looks absolutely fabulous on you! Nice spinning too!

  5. Gorgeous pullover! I love the blue, and I’m going to be on the lookout for that yarn. You did an amazing job of grafting! My heart would have been in my throat the whole time.

  6. The pullover looks great! I’m working my way through the stockinette part, and it’s looking good. So glad I saw yours – it’s perfect for this yarn! Mine’s color 06, I think. It’s a deep purple.

Leave a Reply

