Can’t stop

We’re having a blissfully cool day here in my corner of Maine – it hasn’t reached 80 and looks like it won’t today, a relief after yesterday topped out at 98. I know our summers are mild compared to many parts of the country, even compared to where I grew up, but I’m acclimated to Alaska still, and I begin to melt around 85…

I can’t stop spinning on my newest project, the laceweight merino-bamboo. I worked on it yesterday afternoon, last night, and again this morning, on and off: a few moments here, ten minutes there…

I made the mistake, however, of reading a thread in the forums over on Ravelry about how long it takes other spinners to fill a bobbin. 15 to 30 minutes per ounce seems to be an average, though they’re not discussing laceweight singles. Even so, apparently I’m a turtle. Or perhaps I’m just very exact. I’ve done about 3 ounces of the 8 so far, I’m guessing it’s taken at least an hour per ounce, probably closer to an hour and a half.

Only 7 more hours 5 more ounces to go until I can ply…. good thing I love the colors.

Tell me, fellow spinners: how slow is slow, and how fast is fast, or does it matter at all if you’re enjoying the process?

11 thoughts on “Can’t stop

  1. It seems to take me forever to spin, but I think it’s because I have been spinning so fine lately. Laceweight, especially, just seems to go on forever. And that’s just four ounces! Eight would take me a couple of weeks, I think. And then it takes a surprisingly long time to ply, as well, with all that yardage.Lovely merino/bamboo!

  2. I’d say an hour per oz of singles would be fast for me, too. Right now I’m doing 8 oz of black merino for a 3 ply sock yarn. And I actually have another 8 oz waiting for me, but I’m trying to think of just this 8 oz. Anyway, that time doesn’t even include the plying time! I definitely wish I could spin a bit faster to clear up some backlog of stash, but in the end I love the process and the product, so I’m happy.

  3. I have to believe the people who are spinning an ounce of fiber in 15-30 minutes are spinning chunky/bulky weight yarns. (If that’s not the case, I’ll be depressed.) 1-1.5 hours per ounce for laceweight does not seem slow at all to me. 🙂

  4. I’m definitly a process person. I will however admit to having moment of spinning that seemed like they’d go on forever and not in a good way. When I really love the fiber the time just seems to fly.

  5. I have no idea how long it takes me to spin stuff up. I do know the roving you gave me took about a day and a half to spin up laceweight singles, but I didn’t keep track of the hours.I want to move in with you for the rest of the summer. Be there soon mmkay? 😀

  6. Spinning is my Zen space, so the speed of production doesn’t matter. I guess I might be more concerned about the production speed were I trying to carve out a living with handspun yarn….Enjoy the process so you can have fun!

  7. I don’t seem to spin as fast as many people, and I’m not spinning laceweight! But, I am spinning worsted, which I think is a bit slower than woolen. And if I spun as fast as some people, I wouldn’t be able to afford my fiber habit. (I my speed, I’m in no immediate danger of ever running out of fiber!) I’d say it takes me atleast an hour per ounce. Maybe more.

  8. With easy fiber, good daylight and rested fingers, maybe I’ll get an ounce in an hour, more likely 90 minutes.I buy too much fiber as it is. Faster would be bad. Your teal will be beautiful.

Leave a Reply

