No excuses

Dear you,

I’ve no excuse for staying silent so long; the process of re-growing ankle ligaments is slow and frustrating, but going very well. I’ve spent the past few weeks reading, knitting, and even spinning a bit here and there as healing allows. I’ve cooked and daydreamed, surfed nearly to the end of Ravelry, and read hundreds of blog posts, yet couldn’t bring myself to post until the guilt finally got the better of me.

I think a good portion of my reluctance to blog has been that while I value, even revere, the written word, I find it difficult to do good writing in this format. I want to show the broader world as I see it, through the lens of fiber arts, to give glimpses of my life and the places I live, tucked neatly and succinctly into brilliant paragraphs studded with fabulous photography. I want to use those college writing classes, darn it! Instead, I tend more towards a “show and tell” approach, and I’m getting a bit bored with it.
So I think I’ve been waiting for the “perfect blog post” to write itself in my mind – and of course, with such pressure on, I am back where I began: “Lookie, see what I made!?”

Ahem. Without further ado, it’s Show and Tell time.

I knit a sweater.

I recommend the pattern highly. Those complex cables aren’t nearly so difficult as you might think, the charts are clarity and genius rolled into one.

The yarn I used, “Homestead,” is an offering from Plymouth Yarn’s new line of organic, minimally-processed yarns. Sturdy and slightly rustic, yet surprisingly soft after washing, it comes in natural colors; at $6 per 200 yd. skein, it’s a steal for such a quality yarn. It’s definitely on my “must use again” list.

Wisteria,” pattern by Kate Gilbert, from Fall ’08 Twist Collective
Yarn: Homestead, by Plymouth Yarns; color 101, 7 skeins
Needles:Us 8/5.0mm Knit Picks Options circs and dpns
Size 40.5 (worn with 4+” ease)

I spun some yarn.

Burning Bush, BFL dyed by Spunky Eclectic
4 oz. = 360 yards sport/dk-ish

I dyed some rovings.

Superwash merino, Punta wool, alpaca/merino/silk blend, and alpaca/superwash blend

I will attempt blogful eloquence another day. For now, what you see is what you get. *wink*

11 thoughts on “No excuses

  1. Wisteria is on my (long!) to-do list. I love your version and thanks for the yarn suggestion. It looks very very nice with that pattern. Hope the ankle is improving every day!

  2. Oh my gosh, that sweater is gorgeous! If I thought hurting my leg would allow me to knit that well, I’d go jump off my porch right now. Alas, I don’t think that would happen.

Leave a Reply

