Starting again

Where to begin?

As viewed from the Hatteras ferry

How to tell the story when one wants to avoid attention, to move forward with only a small hiccup? And yet that hiccup has become too lengthy a silence to break without some explaination.

“Moonsongs” shawl, from handspun yarn.
Details here on Ravlery

I have been in the midst of life-upheaval and have not wanted to write about it. For the most part I still do not have much to say in such a public forum.

Big surf as Hurricane Bill passed offshore

In May I relocated from Maine to my childhood home on the outer banks of North Carolina, a move that is the result of the dissolution of my marriage.

I am finding my way again, trying to take the steps to make my new life in this familiar place, learning to dream about a very different sort of future than I had imagined I would have.

Rudy enjoying the sand

I am doing very well, working a lot and spending time with friends, new and old.

End of summer Ladies’ Night with co-workers

Knitting and spinning have taken a backseat for awhile, though as you can see I’ve not been entirely idle. With the approaching autumn I hope to revive both my craft and my blog.

Simple handspun socks
Details here on Ravlery

So, welcome back! I’m glad to see you again!

30 thoughts on “Starting again

  1. Yeay! You're blogging again!Could Rudy BE ANY cuter? Love him.A very wise spinner once told me to be patient with myself. It seems very apropos to return this advice now.Be patient with yourself. You will find your way. Big hugs to you!

  2. I'm so sorry for all you're going through. I'm glad you have lots of friends around, though, and I'm glad to see you back on the blog! That shawl is amazing.Sarah (your Sockapalooza pal from Chicago)

  3. I am glad you are continuing your blog. I wish you the best in this new life you are walking into. I know from personal experience that it is not always easy, but I have learned there are new dreams to be had and new rhythms of life that become comfortable. Yet there are some threads of life that can stay the same, and that is good too.

  4. It's good to see you coming out of your shell again. We all tend to "draw within" when depressed or under stress. It will get better :)Rudy is such a handsome dog. I hope you find a place where he can stay with you.

  5. Glad to see you back again — your beautiful posts have been missed. I'm thinking of you and hoping that this unexpected version of the future will bring you myriad unexpected joys and blessings.

  6. Sorry to read about your life upheavals. I hope all is well with you in NC. I've been out of the blogging/knitting world for a bit myself and am now just catching up. Take care and I hope your new path is a good one.

  7. I am so glad you are back to blogging! I look forward to checking your recent works out on Ravelry. I have been knitting with your alpaca/silk/wool roving that I spun into a 2-ply. I'm making the the Lace Smoke Ring by HeartStrings and it is heavenly to knit.I'm sorry to hear about your life upheaval and I will be sending you lots of love and light as I knit with the beautiful roving you dyed.

  8. good to hear from you – and to know that you are slowly/surely moving forward.moonsong shawl is stunning.and I love the pictures of the surf also.I recommend long walks, lots of spinning, and silly laughter with women friends. In time, it will heal.

  9. So sorry to hear the news. Hoping you find comfort, love, and happiness in your new(old) surroundings. Thank you for sharing your beautiful handknits with us, though! And for trusting the blogging world enough to share the painful real life moments, too. Best of luck to you!

Leave a Reply

