photo no go

The weather did not cooperate to allow me photos of my new sweater today, but it is completed and I will try again tomorrow.

I’m busy tonight packing for a trip – that’s right, I’m going on vacation! It will be the first time in over a year-and-a-half that I have spent more than one night off the island. For those who don’t know, the island I live on is about one mile wide and thirteen miles long; the cozy size is both a blessing and a curse, as you might imagine. I’m ready for some time away.

I will be leaving Thursday morning to attend classes at the John C. Campbell Folk School in western North Carolina. I’ve heard such fantastic things about the school, both the atmosphere and the instructors (and the food!) and have been wanting to check it out for nearly a decade. Now seems to be the perfect time.

I will be taking a spindle-spinning course over the weekend, to hone my skills and correct some of my self-taught idiosyncrasies, and then a week-long knitting workshop. If my hands don’t fall off from all the activity, I hope to keep you all updated here on the blog.

Queries to you this evening: is it strange that the first things I packed (and re-packed, multiple times) are my yarns, fibers, needles, and spindles? And how much yarn is really too much to take when one is planning on doing little more than knitting for a week straight?

Until tomorrow, all for now.

2 thoughts on “photo no go

  1. You can never have too much yarn (or fiber) for any occasion – that’s my motto.

    Have a GREAT time! I have heard wonderful things about Campbell classes as well for years and years.

Leave a Reply

